POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series schedules 15 events for inaugural season in 2012

POWRi logo 2011

From Tim Tuttle

MILLSTADT, Ill. (Jan. 27, 2012)—The inaugural season of the POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series will have 15 events in 2012, racing in Texas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and Illinois.

POWRi Racing, entering its eighth season of organizing and sanctioning events, made the decision with the support of Lucas Oil to expand into Texas and Oklahoma and establish a championship series for Midget teams and drivers in the region.

“We’ve found on our Western swings there are a lot of cars in Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Texas and Oklahoma that are looking for a group to run with and be recognized in a championship,” POWRi co-founder Kenny Brown said. “We’ve taken that step to fill the void and it will also strengthen our POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series by increasing the competition in the races out West. This is a great direction for us to grow with our established strength in the Midwest.”

POWRi West will be in 11 co-sanctioned events with the POWRi National Midgets including the prestigious the RevHoney/Speedway Motors Midget Money Week at Solomon Valley Raceway in Beloit, Kan., on July 27, Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb., on July 28 and US 36 Raceway in Cameron, Mo., on July 29.

POWRi West and National Midgets open the season at Cowtown Speedway in Kennedale, Texas, on March 16-17. The Midget Stampede at the ¼-mile track located near Fort Worth has a purse exceeding $40,000 with Friday’s feature paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start and Saturday’s $5,000 to win and $500 to start. $100 in tow money will be paid each night for the entrants not making the feature.

POWRi West’s four stand-alone events are at Will Rogers Raceway in Claremore, Okla., on May 25 and an October TBA and I-44 Speedway in Oklahoma City on May 26 and an October TBA.

POWRi West races twice (May 4, June 8) at Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Mo., near Kansas City and once (June 9) at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway.

POWRi West is also part of the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., on May 5 and the Charlene Meents Memorial at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., on Oct. 12-13.

POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series 2012 schedule

+#March 16—Cowtown Speedway (1/4-mile), Kennedale, Texas; +#March 17—Cowtown Speedway (1/4-mile), Kennedale, Texas; +May 4—Valley Speedway (1/3-mile), Grain Valley, Mo.; May 5–+Lucas Oil Speedway (3/8-mile), Wheatland, Mo.; May 25—Will Rogers Raceway (1/5-mile), Claremore, Okla.; May 26—I-44 Speedway (1/6-mile), Oklahoma City, Okila; +June 8—Valley Speedway (1/3-mile), Grain Valley, Mo.; +June 9—Springfield (Mo.) Raceway (1/4-mile); July 27–+Solomon Valley Raceway (1/5-mile), Beloit, Kan.; July 28–+Junction Motor Speedway (3/8-mile), McCool Junction, Neb.; +July 29—US 36 Raceway (3/8-mile), Cameron, Mo.; +@Oct. 12—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.;+@ Oct. 13—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Oct. TBA—Will Rogers Raceway (1/5-mile), Claremore, Okla.; Oct. TBA—I-44 Speedway (1/6-mile), Oklahoma City, Okla.

+co-sanctioned with POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series, @–co-sanctioned with United States Auto Club; #co-sanctioned with Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association.

For more information on POWRi Racing, go to www.POWRi.com.