Montieth Gets Fourth W Of Williams Grove Season

From Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg, PA — (August 24, 2012) — Brian Montieth of Phoenixville became the winningest driver of the 2012 season at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, claiming his fourth Lawrence Chevrolet sprint car victory of the season.

In the URC sprint main, Pat Cannon scored the victory in a marathon event.

Polesitter Cory Haas took the lead when action got underway in the 25-lap sprint car feature and soon found Chad Layton knocking on his door for the lead after starting sixth.

By lap six, both Haas and Layton were getting away from the field when the red flag unfurled for a two car flip in the first turn that saw Aaron Ott exit the oval and Davey Sammons come to rest on the track.

There were no injuries.

Seventh starter Montieth restarted fifth and got by Brent Marks for fourth with eight down before getting by Adam Wilt for third on lap 11.

It took him three laps to begin challenging Layton for second and with 10 laps to go he had completed the task and was ready to race with Haas for the win.

Haas really couldn’t compete with Montieth’s blistering pace once he decided to pull the trigger with eight laps to go.

Once at the front, the Phoenixville flyer began pulling away with the lead only to be slowed with four to go for a blown tire on Layton’s racer.

The restart saw Wilt up to second but proving no challenge to Montieth, who instead went on to his 13th career victory at the track and second in a row after also taking the win back on August 10.

It was also his fourth checkers of the season at the track, placing him at the top of the season win list.

Montieth pocketed just shy of $4,200 for the win thanks to lap money and a $500 bonus for winning from the fourth row.

Wilt was second followed by Haas, who earned $160 in lap money, Marks and Doug Esh.

Sixth through 10th went to Greg Hodnett, Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease, Daryn Pittman and Fred Rahmer.

Heats for the 27-car field went to Wilt, Ryan Smith and Rahmer with the consolation going to Gerard McIntyre Jr.

Polesitter Ryan Bohlke took the lead at the start of the 25-lap URC sprint main and had things under control despite caution flags and resulting restarts on laps two, nine and 10.

The yellow with 15 laps to go took out front runner Mark Smith who was up to second and ready to challenge Bohlke for the lead when a lapped car spun and took him out of the race.

But the entire complexion of the event changed with a restart on lap 17 that saw the field take the new green in double file form

Both Jessica Zemken, who restarted fourth, and Bohlke tangled racing at the the field blasted into the third corner, taking themselves out of the race and handing the lead to Ed Aikin.

Aikin came up with a flat when action resumed again, this time handing the lead over to Cannon who originally started 16th in the field.

That restart turned red for refueling when lap 18 still couldn’t be completed and when action tried to resume again, another red appeared for a two-car roll on the frontchute.

After that, the final eight loops went non-stop with Cannon executing perfect laps to pick up the victory.

Eric Tomecek rode home second followed by Ryan Wilson, Davie Franek and Robbie Stillwaggon.

Sixth through 10th went to Josh Weller, Kramer Williamson, Tim Berkheimer, JJ Grasso and Randy West.

Heats for the 38-car field went to Wilson, Bohlke, Dan Mazy and Jonathan Swanson with twin consolations going to Stillwaggon and Brock Zearfoss.

August 24, 2012 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Brian Montieth, 2. Adam Wilt, 3. Cory Haas, 4. Brent Marks, 5. Doug Esh, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Danny Dietrich, 8. Lance Dewease, 9. Daryn Pittman, 10. Fred Rahmer, 11. Rick Lafferty, 12. Frank Cozze, 13. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 14. Ryan Taylor, 15. Chad Layton, 16. Curt Michael, 17. Rodney Westhafer, 18. Glenndon Forsythe, 19. Davey Sammons, 20. Aaron Ott, 21. Michael Ruttkamp, 22. Ryan Smith, 23. Todd Zinn, 24. Alan Krimes

DNQ: Troy Fraker, Jim Shuster, Steve Buckwalter

URC sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Pat Cannon, 2. Eric Tomecek, 3. Ryan Wilson, 4. Davie Franek, 5. Robbie Stillwaggon, 6. Josh Weller, 7. Kramer Williamson, 8. Tim Berkheimer, 9. JJ Grasso, 10. Randy West, 11. Ed Aikin, 12. Mark Bittner, 13. Andy Best, 14. Bryn Gohn, 15. Jonathan Swanson, 16. Art Liedl, 17. Scott Lutz, 18. Jessica Zemken, 19. Amy Ott, 20. Ryan Bohlke, 21. Chad Trout, 22. Kevin Mazy, 23. Mark Smith, 24. Brock Zearfoss

DNQ: Kevin Darling, Jay Galloway, Jared Fink, Mark Watkins, Troy Betts, Denny Garl, David Swanson, Brian Garland, Joey Biasi, Larry Kelleher, Steve Downs, Jim Reppert, Tim Hogue, Jim Stitzel