Latest News


By Dick Jordan

The “Freedom Tour” takes USAC’s Southwest Sprint Cars to Oklahoma and Kansas this weekend with four races slated, all specified as “special events” without series points attached.
USAC United States Auto Club Southwest Sprint Car Series Logo tease
The tour begins Wednesday night at Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Okla. and continues Thursday night at 81 Speedway in Wichita, Kans. The closing events are Friday and Saturday nights at Dodge City (Kans.) Raceway Park.

R.J. Johnson of Phoenix, Ariz. leads the series to these four special events and he will maintain his 82-point margin over Charles Davis Jr. when the points championship resumes September 7 at Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek, Ariz.

Johnson and Davis have accounted for 12 of the 19 Southwest Sprint races contested so far. Johnson has eight wins and Davis four. Series regulars Mike Martin, Josh Pelkey and Rick Ziehl also have a 2013 victory to their credit.

2013 USAC Southwest Sprint Car Standings: 1-R.J. Johnson-878, 2-Charles Davis Jr.-796, 3-Mke Martin-720, 4-Ronnie Clark-632, 5-Shon Deskins-625, 6-Andy Reinbold-558, 7-Chris Bonneau-555, 8-Josh Pelkey-541, 9-Brian Hosford-466, 10-Mike Bonneau-416.