urc United Racing Company Logo

From Selinsgrove Speedway

Selisngrove, PA — (August 9, 2014) — Mark Smith, driving the MACH 1 Chassis sprint car won the 25 lap Kramer Cup Rislone URC sprint car feature event Saturday night at the Selinsgrove.

This event, sponsored by Selinsgrove Ford and presented to honor three time URC Champion and Central Pennsylvania sprint car great Kramer Williamson, who lost his life in a sprint car accident in 2013. The Selinsgrove Speedway grandstand had a wave of pink as hundreds of race fans proudly wore their Kramer Williamson t-shirts. The family of Kramer Williamson along with his #73 Pink Panther sprint car were on hand for the event. Earlier in the day, Selinsgrove Ford had a race day celebration and promotion with twenty-five race cars of various divisions on display. The race cars then drove down main street from Selinsgrove Ford to the Selinsgrove Speedway. A police escort led the race cars on what was a very successful promotion.

Heat race victories went to Josh Weller, Cody Keller and Ryan Kissinger with each driver earning $73 for the win. The #73 represents the car number of Kramer Williamson. Jessica Anderson was the winner of the “B” Main.

In the 25 lap Kramer Cup event, Troy Betts was the early race leader with Ryan Kissinger and TJ Stutts in the chase. On lap four, Kissinger took the lead as Stutts followed in second. The yellow flaw was displayed on lap seven when Colby Womer stopped in turn four.

On the restart, Kissinger and Stutts went to battle exchanging the lead several times before Kissinger settled in as the race leader on lap ten.

At the halfway point of the race, Kissinger and Stutts were again in a heated battle as Mark Smith moved into the picture racing in third followed by Cody Keller and Robbie Stillwaggon. The Kissinger and Stutts battle continued, then on lap nineteen, Smith moved into second.

On lap twenty-one, Jimmy Stitzel spun with the leaders charging into turn three. Kissinger slipped by the spinning sprinter but Stutts, Cody Keller and Larry Kelleher sustained some damage, displaying the caution flag.

A double file restart now set the stage with Smith taking the lead. Robbie Stillwaggon was now moving into contention along with Mike Walter.

Once on top, Smith easily took the victory followed by Ryan Kissinger, Robbie Stillwaggon, Mike Walter and Davie Franek. Making up the top ten were Josh Weller, Curt Michael, Jason Shultz, Hunter Schuerenberg and Larry Kelleher.

FEATURE FINISH: Mark Smith, Ryan Kissinger, Robbie Stillwaggon, Mike Walter, Davie Franek, Josh Weller, Curt Michael, Jason Shultz, Hunter Schuerenberg, Larry Kelleher, Jordan Thomas, Derek Locke, Mike Water II, Jason Clauss, Mark Bitner, Jessica Anderson, Troy Betts, TJ Stutts, Cody Keller, Jimmy Stitzel, Keith Prutzman, Brad Franks, Andy Best, Colby Womer.

DNQ – – Mallie Shuster, Jonathan Swanson, Derek Steward, Randy West, Ed Aikin.

Fast Time of the Night: Mark Smith

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger: Curt Michael (advanced 11 spots)