Holbrook wins at Trail-Way

Trail-Way Speedway Top Story

From Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (June 10, 2016) — David Holbrook sneaked under race-long leader Wyatt Hinkle in the midst of heavy lapped traffic on turn four of lap 22 and drove to his first win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“I have to thank lapped cars for their help,” said the Parkton, MD driver upon exiting the Mike Parris-owned Baird Heating & Cooling/Turning Stone Resort & Casino #77 in victory lane, “I kinda lost my mind for a few laps there, and I’m glad I came around.”

Holbrook started fifth, caught Jeff Halligan for fourth on lap four, passed Austin Kirby for third on lap five, and took second from Seth Kearchner on lap 12. He chased polesitter Hinkle for the next ten laps until Hinkle got caught up behind lapped traffic with just over three laps to go.

“We learned some things tonight, and I told the guys I was going to win on turn four, and that’s where it happened,” said Holbrook, “We’ll be back again next time and try to do it again.”

The final margin of victory for Holbrook’s second career Trail-Way win was 2.91 seconds.

Hinkle settled for second, with 12th-starting Isaac Sneeringer third, hard charger Doug Hammaker (who started 16th) fourth, and Kearchner fifth. Completing the top ten were Halligan, Tyler Walton, Randy Whisler, Cody Fletcher, and Mike Bittinger (who came from the back after spinning out on the second lap).

Qualifiers for the 19 sprinters were won by Bittinger and Kearchner.


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 77-David Holbrook; 2. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 66-Doug Hammaker; 5. 30-Seth Kearchner; 6. 41-Jeff Halligan; 7. 4R-Tyler Walton; 8. 64-Randy Whisler; 9. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 10. 12-Mike Bittinger; 11. 4-Dwight Leppo; 12. 10-Zach Euculano; 13. 28-Austin Kirby; 14. 22T-Dave Thrush; 15. 14C-Dave Carlberg; 16. 10B-Brandon Noel (DNF); 17. 00-Chris Frank (DNF); 18. 17-George Streaker, Jr. (DNS); 19. 77K-Steven Kisamore (DNS). No time.

Lap Leaders: Wyatt Hinkle (1-21); David Holbrook (22-25)

358 Sprints Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 12-Mike Bittinger; 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 28-Austin Kirby; 5. 4R-Tyler Walton; 6. 41-Jeff Halligan; 7. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 8. 10-Zach Euculano; 9. 4-Dwight Leppo (DNF); 10. 77K-Steven Kisamore (DNF). No time.

358 Sprints Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 30-Seth Kearchner; 2. 00-Chris Frank; 3. 10B-Brandon Noel; 4. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 5. 64-Randy Whisler; 6. 14C-Dave Carlberg; 7. 22T-Dave Thrush (DNF); 8. 66-Doug Hammaker (DNF); 9. 17-George Streaker, Jr. (DNS). Time – 2:23.22