Ball Leads 2016 Cox Design Southern Iowa Speedweek Points

Jamie Ball (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From Tom Schmeh

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (August 4, 2016) — With his win in the preliminary main on the first night of the Arnold Motor Supply 360-cubic-inch Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank on Thursday at Knoxville Raceway, Jamie Ball of Knoxville is the early leader in the 2016 Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Southern Iowa Sprint Week point standings. Night number two is Friday, August 5, with the second preliminary qualifying night. The ‘360’ Nationals are sanctioned by the American Sprint Car Series (ASCS).

The unofficial top sixteen in the 2016 Cox Design Southern Iowa Sprint Week points after one night is as follows: 1., Jamie Ball, 50 points; 2., Sammy Swindell, 49 points; 3., Josh Baughman, 48 points; 4., Terry McCarl, 47 points; 5., Danny Lasoski, 46 points; 6., Ian Madsen, 45 points; 7., Tony Shilling, 44 points; 8., Bryan Clauson, 43 points., 9., Justin Henderson, 42 points, 10., Ryan Giles, 41 points, 11., Cory Eliason, 40 points, 12., Aaron Reutzel, 39 points, 13., Seth Brahmer, 38 points, 14., Matt Covington, 37 points, 15., Sawyer Phillips, 36 points, 16., Ryan Roberts, 35 points.

The Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Southern Iowa Sprint Week includes ten points-paying sprint car feature races in ten days, August 4-13, between the Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville and the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa. The top three places pay $2,500, $1,000, and $500, respectively, with the winner declared the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” titlist.

Past “Mr. Sprint Car” titlists include Ricky Logan (2002) of Arkansas, Shane Stewart (2003, ’04) of Oklahoma, Billy Alley (2005) of Nebraska, Jason Johnson (2006) of Louisiana, Wayne Johnson (2007, ‘08) of Oklahoma, Terry McCarl (2009, ‘15) of Iowa, Sammy Swindell (2010, ‘11) of Tennessee, Kyle Larson (2012) of California, Kevin Swindell (2013) of Tennessee, and Brian Brown (2014) of Missouri.