Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints Head to Quebec to Granby and Le RPM

By Dean Reynolds


SYRACUSE, NY – The second points title for the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) will be decided this weekend with our second weekend visit to Quebec. Autodrome Granby and Le RPM Speedway will be the stops with the Fondations 4 Saisons Quebec Series Title to be crowned.


Looking to take home the title that his family sponsors, Steve Poirier is leading the points coming in to this weekend. The Quebec native just put himself atop the all time win list for ESS with career win #60 just this past Tuesday night at I-88 Speedway. He already has the Donath Motorworx CNY Speedweek title under his belt this year and will be looking for the second one.


Jason Barney, Jeff Cook, Dylan Swiernik and Lee Ladouceur round out the top five in the Quebec Series points heading into this Friday.  All are expected to be in the field minus Swiernik who will miss due to work commitments. Paulie Colagiovanni, Jordan Poirier, Paul Kinney, Chris Jones and Yan Bilodeau make up the top ten in the Quebec points.


Expected to join those teams this weekend from the States are Matt Tanner, Chuck Hebing, Parker Evans, Shawn Donath, Dave and Tim Axton, Chad Miller, Dan Douville, Scott Kreutter, Brandon Kidd, Denny Peebles, Anthony Cain and others.


Canada will be represented as well with Michael Parent, Alain Bergeron, Dale Gosselin, Alex Vigneault, Alain Boisvert, Paul Pekkonen, Guillaume Neiderer, Devin Caron and more.


Each A-Main boasts a purse of $2,000 to win with $500 just to start. If a car happens to not qualify, you still will receive $250.  Along with the Quebec Series points, all important points for the Lucas Oil overall championship and the Einstein Construction Group Canada Tour will be awarded.


Granby, Le RPM, it’s the annual invasion of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints and tradition for 34 years, it will be excitement guaranteed!


Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Autodrome Granby


June 17, 1994 Roger Horvath
June 23, 1995 Mike Woodring
Sept. 1, 1995 Craig Keel
June 21, 1996 Mike Woodring
June 20, 1997 Mike Woodring
Aug. 29, 1997 Bobby Parrow
June 19, 1998 Mike Woodring
Sept. 4, 1998 Lance Yonge
June 25, 1999 Mike Stelter
Sept. 3, 1999 Lance Yonge
June 23, 2000 Mike Wodoring
Sept. 1, 2000 Mike Stelter
June 21, 2002 Mike Woodring
Aug. 30, 2002 Mike Woodring
June 20, 2003 Mike Woodring
June 18, 2004 John Karklin Jr.
Sept. 3, 2004 John Karklin Jr.
July 29, 2005 Lance Yonge
June 16, 2006 Doug Emery
July 28, 2006 Steve Poirier
Sept. 1, 2006 Jeff VanDusen
June 15, 2007 Chuck Hebing
July 27, 2007 Jeff Cook
Aug. 31, 2007

June 13, 2008

Aug. 1, 2008

Steve Poirier

Steve Poirier

Alain Bergeron

Aug. 29, 2008 Steve Poirier
June 5, 2009 Steve Poirier
July 31, 2009

Sept. 4, 2009

June 4, 2010

Aug. 27, 2010

June 3, 2011

Aug. 5, 2011

May 11, 2012

May 12, 2012

June 1, 2012

Aug, 24, 2012

May 31, 2013

Justin Barger

Chuck Hebing

Jessica Zemken

Jeff Cook

Shawn Donath

Steve Poirier

Shane Stewart, Dain Naida

Shawn Stewart

Justin Barger

Justin Barger

Kevin Ward Jr.

Aug. 22, 2014 Steve Poirier
May 29, 2015 Mark Smith
Aug. 28, 2015 Mark Smith
June 3, 2016 Steve Poirier


Past Empire Super Sprints winners Le RPM

Aug. 29, 2010 Dan Kaszubinski
Aug. 6, 2011 Cory Sparks
Aug. 25, 2012 Paul Kinney
Aug. 26, 2012 Michael Parent
Aug. 23, 2014 Michael Parent
Aug. 28, 2015 Steve Poirier



Autodrome Granby – Aug. 26 – Racing at 7:00

Website –

Facebook –

Twitter – @AutodromeGranby


Utica-Rome Speedway – Aug. 27 – Racing at 6:00

Website –

Facebook –

Twitter – @


For more Information on the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints:
Twitter: @ESSprints


Android App: Empire Super Sprints


The Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints are brought to you by: Lucas Oil, Mach 1 Chassis, Einstein Construction Group, SUNY Canton, NAPA Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires, Donath Motorworx, Insinger Performance, Car Mate Trailers, Fondations 4 Saisons, Beard Sewer and Drain, Cobra Coaches, 911 Restoration, Westward Painting Company, Fondations 55, E&V Energy, Panther Frameworx, YorkMont Auctions,, Engler Machine and Tool, Northwood 2 Construction, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Lacaillade Masonry, FX Chevy, ASI Racewear and many, many associate sponsors!!