Dietrech Wins Gobrecht Memorial at Lincoln

Danny Dietrich. (Brent Smith Photo)

From Bill Meyer

ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. (July 1, 2017) – Danny Dietrich continued to impress in Saturday night’s Pennsylvania Speedweek show at Lincoln Speedway, claiming the $7,000 to prize in the 18th Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial for 410 sprint cars.

Time trials, qualifying, and an inversion of “6” for the feature placed Dietrich alongside Freddie Rahmer on the outside of of row two for the start.

Outside front row starter Trey Starks led the first ten laps before polesitter Rico Abreu took over on lap 11. Dietrich charged by both Starks and Abreu for the lead on lap 12. Though he led the rest of the way in the non-stop 30 lap feature, he had to deal with a closing Lance Dewease over the final eight laps. Dewease, who started sixth, moved into second with eight laps to go, and actually pulled inside Dietrich in heavy lapped traffic on turns three and four of lap 24. But Dietrich shut the door exiting the turn and pulled away to a .75-second victory at the end, his second win in a row, sixth Lincoln win of the year, and 37th of his career in the Pigeon Hills.

“That was pretty good show,” said Dietrich in victory lane after completing the 30-lap event in eight minutes, 10.303 seconds, “I wasn’t really good there at the end. I thought Lance was definitely going to catch me. I think I saw him one time. I started to play defense. I don’t like playing defense, but I’m glad to be standing here.”

“Hats off to this crew back here…Tony, Jake, Jordan, and Tyler…they bust their butts all week long,” continued Dietrich, “I wasn’t in the shop much with other things going on, and it feels good to be standing here again. I’m not sure I had a fast car at the end. We have to get working on the end of the race a little bit.”

Dewease settled for second, with Abreu, James McFadden, and Speedweek point leader Freddie Rahmer rounding out the top five. Sixth through tenth were 11th-starting Alan Krimes, 13th-starting Brandon Rahmer, Lucas Wolfe, Matt Campbell, and Starks.

Heats for the sprints were won by Dewease, Starks, Abreu, and Greg Hodnett, with Chad Trout winning the B-Main. Fast time in time trials was set by Dewease over the 42-car field with a one-lap time of 13.468-seconds (100.238 MPH).

Mason Chaney held off Lucas Montgomery by a half car-length to score his second career Lincoln win in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature. Chaney started third and grabbed the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Chris Transeau on lap three. He led the rest of the way despite heavy late-race pressure from Montgomery, crossing .19 seconds ahead of Montgomery at the finish.

Third through fifth were Hayden Pascoe, Transeau, and Travis Perry.

Heats for the 31 Central PA Legends were won by Transeau, Perry, and Chaney, with Scott Haudeshell winning the consolation.

Lincoln Speedway is back in action this Monday night, July 3rd, with night 4 of the scheduled Speedweek series. Night 4 of the series will have the 410 sprinters going after the $5,000 winner’s check. The 358 Sprinters will round out the evening’s action. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with time trials scheduled to begin at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Saturday, July 1, 2017


Abbottstown, PA


18th Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial

Feature Finish (30 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich($7,000); 2. 69K-Lance Dewease; 3. 24R-Rico Abreu; 4. 3-James McFadden; 5. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 6. 87-Alan Krimes; 7. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 8. 24-Lucas Wolfe; 9. 16C-Matt Campbell; 10. 44-Trey Starks; 11. 21-Brian Montieth; 12. 27-Greg Hodnett; 13. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss; 14. 59-Jim Siegel; 15. 35-Tyler Walker; 16. 1X-Chad Trout; 17. 39M-Anthony Macri; 18. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 19. 11-T.J. Stutts; 20. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 21. 1-Dale Blaney; 22. 2W-Glendon Forsythe; 23. 99M-Kyle Moody; 24. 35O-Steve Owings. Time: 8:10:303

Lap Leaders – Trey Starks (1-10), Rico Abreu (11), Danny Dietrich (12-30)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 69K-Lance Dewease; 2. 3-Darren McFadden; 3. 16C-Matt Campbell; 4. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 7. 92-Sammy Walsh; 8. 55-Robbie Kendall; 9. 39-Cory Haas; 10. 21AU-Jordyn Brazier; 11. 12W-Troy Fraker. Time – 2:20.600

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 44-Trey Starks; 2. 24-Lucas Wolfe; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 39-Anthony Macri; 5. 35-Steve Owings; 6. 5B-Justin Barger; 7. 25-Aaron Ott; 8. 1W-Eric Tomecek; 9. 07-Jordon Givler; 10. 17-George Streaker, Jr.; 11. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No Time

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 24-Rico Abreu; 2. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 69-Tim Glatfelter; 6. 1-Dale Blaney; 7. 5G-Chase Dietz; 8. 27G-Jay Galloway; 9. 33-Jarred Esh; 10. 21T-Scott Fisher. No Time

410 Sprint Heat Four Finish (10 laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 27-Greg Hodnett; 2. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 3. 35-Tyler Walker; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 99M-Kyle Moody; 6. 11-TJ Stutts; 7. 5-Tyler Ross; 8. 10-Joe Kata, III; 9. 74-Dwayne Gutshall; 10. 1X-Chad Trout (DNF). Time – 2:26.905

410 Sprint B-Main Finish (12 laps/4 to qualify) – 1. 1X-Chad Trout; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 3. 1-Dale Blaney; 4. 11-TJ Stutts; 5. 25-Aaron Ott; 6. 39-Cory Haas; 7. 5-Tyler Ross; 8. 55K-Robbie Kendell; 9. 21T-Scott Fisher; 10. 1W-Eric Tomecek; 11. 5B-Justin Barger; 12. 92A-Sammy Walsh; 13. 33-Jarred Esh; 14. 10-Joe Kata, III; 15. 07-Jordon Givler; 16. 27G-Jay Galloway; 17. 12-Troy Fraker; 18. 21AU-Jordyn Brazier; 19. 17-George Streaker, III; 20. 5G-Chase Dietz; 21. 74-Dwayne Gutshall; 22. 8-Billy Dietrich.

Time Trial Results – 1. 69K-Lance Dewease, 13.468-seconds (100.238 MPH); 2. 24-Lucas Wolfe, 13.501; 3. 48-Danny Dietrich, 13.679; 4. 1X-Chad Trout, 13.700; 5. 3-James McFadden, 13.739; 6. 35-Steve Owings, 13.775; 7. 24R-Rico Abreu, 13.785; 8. 51-Freddie Rahmer, 13.800; 9. 16C-Matt Campbell, 13.814; 10. 44-Trey Starks, 13.848; 11. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss, 13.855; 12. 27-Greg Hodnett, 13.875; 13. 88-Brandon Rahmer, 13.878; 14. 87-Alan Krimes, 13.884; 15. 59-Jim Siegel, 13.897; 16. 11-TJ Stutts, 13.898; 17. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe, 13.915; 18. 39M-Anthony Macri, 13.917; 19. 1-Dale Blaney, 13.951; 20. 21-Brian Montieth, 13.954; 21. 92A-Sammy Walsh, 13.968; 22. 8-Billy Dietrich, 13.969; 23. 69-Tim Glatfelter, 13.970; 24. 35-Tyler Walker, 13.989; 25. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr., 14.012; 26. 07-Jordon Givler, 14.031; 27. 5G-Chase Dietz, 14.048; 28. 99M-Kyle Moody, 14.063; 29. 55K-Robbie Kendall, 14.067; 30. 1W-Eric Tomecek, 14.074; 31. 33-Jared Esh, 14.085; 32. 10-Joe Kata, III, 14.107; 33. 39-Cory Haas, 14.116; 34. 25-Aaron Ott, 14.144; 35. 21T-Scott Fisher, 14.300; 36. 5-Tyler Ross, 14.335; 37. 12W-Troy Fraker, 14.442; 38. 5B-Justin Berger, 14.453; 39. 27G-Jay Galloway, 14.505; 40. 74-Dwayne Gutshall, 14.519; 41. 21AU-Jordyn Brazier, 14.852; 42. 17-George Streaker, Jr., 15.672.