I-79 Summer Shootout ahead for Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions

2016 All Star Circuit of Champions Top Story

From Tyler Altmeyer

INDIANAPOLIS (July 19, 2017) – After a weekend break to allow teams the opportunity to compete in the 34th Annual Kings Royal at Eldora (OH) Speedway, the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will return to competition beginning Friday evening, July 21, with the second edition of the I-79 Summer Shootout in Western Pennsylvania. The three-race swing will feature Arctic Cat All Star action at three different facilities over the course of three straight days, each awarding a $5,000 top prize, as well as full points toward the 2017 Arctic Cat All Star championship.

The I-79 Summer Shootout, the final Arctic Cat All Star visit to the western edge of The Keystone State in 2017, will commence on Friday evening, July 21, at the Eriez Speedway in Erie, Pennsylvania. Action will continue on Saturday evening, July 22, at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway near Imperial, all capped off with the I-79 Summer Shootout finale on Sunday, July 23, at Tri-City Raceway Park near Franklin, Pennsylvania. All three dirt ovals are hosting the Arctic Cat All Stars for the first and only time in 2017; their first visit since the inaugural I-79 Summer Shootout one year ago.

A weather interruption in 2016 only allowed for two of the three programs to be completed; Dale Blaney secured high honors at Eriez Speedway, with Kraig Kinser earning the victory at Tri-City Raceway Park. The visit to Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway would lose to Mother Nature before preliminary action could be completed.

Joining a competitive group of Western Pennsylvania regulars, as well as a talented roster of outside invaders, the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will be led by current Series point leader, as well as five-time and defending Series champion, Chad Kemenah. The pilot of the Hunter Racing/DKW Transport/JRC Transportation/Seneca Energy/No. 10H owns a 282 point lead in the current championship hunt, earning three victories thus far in 2017, most recently during competition at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa.

The “Kunkletown Kid” Ryan Smith finds himself second in the Arctic Cat All Star championship chase, followed by New Castle, Indiana’s Caleb Armstrong. Smith and Armstrong each own five top-five finishes in 2017, separated by a mere- four markers in their battle for the Arctic Cat All Star title.

Findlay, Ohio’s Caleb Helms is fourth in the Arctic Cat All Star point chase, followed by leading Series Rookie of the Year contender, Max Stambaugh. Stambaugh, driver of the familiar Ray Marshall Motorsports/Buckeye Machine Fabricators, Inc./No. 33M, sits on top of the Rookie of the Year standings with four top-ten finishes in 21 feature starts.

In addition, Tony Stewart, three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion, as well as the owner of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, will be joining the Arctic Cat All Stars on Friday night at Eriez Speedway, as well as on Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Smoke will pilot his own Rush Truck Centers/Arctic Cat/Ford Performance/No. 14 during each night of competition.

Eriez Speedway will open pit gates at 12-noon on Friday, July 21. A mandatory drivers meeting will be held at 6:00pm, followed by hot laps at 7:00pm. More news and information can be found live on the Web at www.eriez-speedway.com.

Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway will open pit gates at 12-noon on Saturday, July 22. A mandatory drivers meeting will be conducted at 5:30pm, with hot laps to follow at 6:00pm. Fans can find information pertaining to ticket sales and reserved seating online at www.ppms.com.

Tri-City Raceway Park will allow teams to pull into the pit area upon arrival on Sunday, July 23. The mandatory drivers meeting will take shape at 5:00pm; hot laps will follow at 5:30pm. Additional information can be found online at www.tricityracewaypark.com.

Current Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions Standings (July 19, 2017):
1. Chad Kemenah – 3416
2. Ryan Smith – 3134
3. Caleb Armstrong – 3130
4. Caleb Helms – 3008
5. Max Stambaugh – 2858
6. T.J. Michael – 2742
7. Brandon Spithaler – 2569
8. Tim Shaffer – 2520
9. Brandon Matus – 2504
10. Tyler Esh – 2503