Joe Swanson Wins SOD Feature at Butler

Joe Swanson. (T.J. Buffenbarger photo)

From SOD

QUINCY, Mi. (July 22, 2017) — Joe Swanson won a hard fought battle with Jay Steinebach to win Saturday’s Engine Pro Sprints On Dirt presented by ARP Driven Racing Oil Battlegrounds Bash at Butler Motor Speedway.

Swanson (Etna Green, Indiana) started from the pole, but a lap one red for a Shebly Bilton and Andy Chehowski crash on the back straightaway, and a quick caution for Tyler Bearden’s spin halted action quickly. Once back under green, Swanson took the lead over Tim Evilsizer. Boston Mead took 2nd on lap 7, then Steinebach took the spot on the next lap. Steinebach was getting faster as Swanson battled traffic and on lap 16 he shot by the leader and opened up a small lead. On lap 18 the caution flew for Tyler Rankin’s spin. Steinebach held the lead in spite of heavy pressure from Swanson through lap 22 when the caution came out for Doug Zimmerman’s spin. Swanson charged into 1st on lap 23 and led the final 2 laps to win the epic battle.

COMP Cams heat race winner Boston Mead suffered a broken rocker arm at the end of his heat race and SOD point leader suffered the same fate while leading the Engler Machine & Tool heat. While it looked like both drivers were done for the night, they borrowed the parts needed to run the feature and their perseverance paid off. Mead started 3rd and finished 4th. Irwin started 22nd and charged to a 6th place finish, easily winning the KSE Hard Charger Award.
Doug Zimmerman led the 27-car field in qualifying with a 13.272 lap.

The SOD program was completed with typical SOD efficiency through the combined efforts of SOD competitors and Butler Motor Speedway officials.

Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Butler Motor Speedway
Quincy, MI
Saturday July 22, 2017

1. 7J – Joe Swanson
2. 10S – Jay Steinebach
3. 16 – Ryan Ruhl
4. 27B – Boston Mead
5. 41 – Tom Shinderle
6. 0 – Steve Irwin
7. 4T – Josh Turner
8. 5B – Chad Blonde
9. 1A – Mark Aldrich
10. 19Z – Douglas Zimmerman
11. 49T – Gregg Dalman
12. 7Z – Zach Hampton
13. 9E – Tim Evilsizer
14. 21T – Tony Chehowski
15. 10J – Chris Jones
16. 8 – Justin Ward
17. 27K – Ryan Kirkendall
18. 58 – Tony Bures
19. 47 – Robert Bullock
20. 39 – Tyler Rankin
21. 6 – Tyler Bearden
22. 27 – Shelby Bilton
23. 20A – Andy Chehowski