Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Tries Jacksonville Again on Friday!


By Bill W

May 16, 2011 – Despite a gloomy forecast, thirty-one sprint cars with drivers from five states, and a throng of fans in the grandstand assembled in Jacksonville, Illinois last Friday night for “Round 2” of the Monster Energy™ Sprint Series. Unfortunately, it was not to be, as a steady rain began to fall after hot laps had completed. Fans and drivers will not be denied, however, as Jacksonville Speedway and the Midwest Open Wheel Association quickly announced that the event will be made up this Friday night, May 20!

The majority of the 31 drivers attending last week are expected back for the $2,500 to win event. Late news arrived Friday of a few participants that did not make the trip due to the forecast, so some of those drivers are expected as well. Needless to say, a full field of sprinters is anticipated!

“Round 2” will run in conjunction with the modified $1,000 to win “Shawn Marquard Memorial”. Budweiser is the presenting sponsor. Come see the Clydesdale in attendance! There also will be plenty of giveaways on Friday night including bikes for the kids!

Admission is $16, with children 12 and under admitted FREE. If you hold a rain check from last week’s event, just add $3 for admission. Pit gates open at 4:45 p.m., with Grandstands opening at 5:00 p.m. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow. Pit Passes are $25. Teams present last week will be admitted with their wristbands.

To check out more information on upcoming events, Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association, visit the series’ website at!

Donnie Beechler Interview

Racing veteran Donnie Beechler was interviewed on Dewain Hulett’s weekly CRR Racing Show last week…follow the link…

“The Source” Previews This Weekend’s Racing!

“The Source” is a free publication going out to Jacksonville, Illinois residents. This week, find features on the Jacksonville Speedway, the Monster Energy™ Sprint Series, car owner, Rick Northrop, and more. Click on the link below (it is a big file)…

Click to access 019_wk_05-12-2011.pdf

Videos from Jacksonville Speedway and the Opener at 34 Raceway to Pump You Up for Friday!

The links…

Updated Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20)

Pos. Number Name Hometown Points

1. 21x Joey Moughan Springfield, IL 96
2. 12H Jerrod Hull Sikeston, MO 79
3. 55 Terry McCarl Altoona, IA 74
4. 83 Korey Weyant Springfield, IL 71
5. 44 AJ Bruns Lincoln, IL 66
6. 17A Austin McCarl Altoona, IA 65
7. 1m Jim Moughan Jr. Springfield, IL 62
8. 84 Ben Wagoner Emden, IL 52
9. 49 Josh Schneiderman West Burlington, IA 48
10. 22 Robbie Standridge Springfield, IL 43
11. 95 Tommy Rockwell Towanda, IL 42

77u Chris Urish Elkhart, IL 42

10s Jeremy Standridge Springfield, IL 42

14. 52F Logan Faucon Elkhart, IL 40

15. 28 Justin Springer Pekin, IL 39

16. 35 Jimmy Hurley Springfield, IL 37

53H Matt Harms Lacon, IL 37

18. 65 Jordan Goldesberry Springfield, IL 33

47 Brett Samonds Springfield, IL 33

20. 99 Jimmy Davies Oquawka, IL 31

12 Brian Rieck Troy, MO 31

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)

Friday, May 20 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, IL)

Friday, June 17 – Tri-City Speedway – $2,000 to win (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Saturday, June 18 – St. Francois County Raceway (Farmington, MO)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, July 30 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Sunday, September 25 – LaSalle Speedway – co-sanctioned with IRA (LaSalle, IL)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)