USCS Speedweek 2010 kicks off on Saturday, May 29th with 6 races in 8 days


By Pete Walton

Atlanta, GA – May 24, 2010 – The United Sprint Car Series 14th Anniversary Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by Goodyear kicks off its 5th Annual Sprint Speedweek (2010) presented by Biobased.US on Saturday night May 29th at historic Riverside International Speedway in West Memphis, Arkansas. Over just eight days the USCS Speedweek presented by Biobased.US mini-series will visit six different speedways in four states while keeping travel to a minimum for the fans and race teams.

After the Speedweek opener at Riverside, the high-speed entourage then travels just two and ½ hours Southeast of Memphis, Tennessee for Speedweek Round Two at North Alabama Speedway in Tuscumbia, Alabama on Sunday May 30th. On Monday, May 31st the mini-series moves back North to Clayhill Motorsports in Atwood, Tennessee for Round Three on the Memorial Day Holiday..

The traveling show then takes two days off for repairs on Tuesday and Wednesday before returning to action in Round Four on Thursday June 3rd at Beebe Speedway in Beebe, Arkansas for some “Thursday Thunder” action. The high speed caravan continues with Round Five on Friday night June 4th at Jackson Motor Speedway in Byram (Jackson), Mississippi. The USCS Speedweek presented by Biobased.US travels just 100 miles Northwest across the state of Mississippi for the Speedweek 2010 Finale on Saturday, June 5th at the home of November’s Gumbo Nationals, Greenville Speedway in Greenville, Mississippi.

Approximately $90,000 in total prize money is guaranteed with one driver able to win nearly $15,000 including bonuses for the week’s action. Each event pays $2000 to win with a Minimum of $250 to start the A-Main. Any driver who starts all seven A-Main events is guaranteed to go home with a minimum of $1800 for the week. There is a Speedweek mini-series point’s fund that pays back 10 places with $1000 going to the USCS Speedweek 2010 presented by Biobased.US Champion. Additionally each night’s Speedweek event awards USCS presented by Goodyear National points as well as USCS Mid-South Thunder Tour regional Championship points.

During the course of the six nights of intense competition, many of the top ranked drivers in the Nation are expected to compete. Those include seven-time USCS Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee and 2002 NSCHOF 360 Sprint Car Driver of the Year and defending Parts Plus USCS mid South Thunder regional Champion and 2008 USCS Mid South Thunder regional Champion, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas. Gray currently leads the USCS National point standings in two categories and is second on the all-time feature winner list in the USCS presented by Goodyear with 70+ wins. Tim Crawley leads the Mid South standings. Crawley is fourth on the all-time list with 30 career USCS feature wins. Also signed up for the entire week of racing action is the 1999 USCS Dirt Cup Champion Marshall Skinner from West Memphis, Arkansas who is sixth on the career win list with 19 feature wins to date.

Over 60 different drivers are expected to compete in the six USCS Sprint Speedweek 2010 events. Go to for an updated entry list of those pre-entered and expected to enter as well. For further USCS info including rules, etc please visit the series official website at or call the USCS office at 770-460-7223 or 770-865-6097.