Aztec Set to Host ASCS Regional Showdown!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

From Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 2, 2010) – The first Regional showdown of the 2010 season is upon us, with the ASCS Rocky Mountain and ASCS Southwest Regions squaring off at New Mexico’s Aztec Speedway this weekend.

The high-banked, 1/3-mile Aztec Speedway clay oval in Aztec, NM, will be the site of two full nights of racing action on Friday and Saturday.

The ASCS Southwest Region has completed four events thus far in 2010, all in Arizona, with two-time and defending series champion Rick Ziehl of Las Cruces, NM, holding a two-point edge over John Gaston with Calvin Landis, Kaylene Verville and J.T. Imperial rounding out the current top five in points.

The ASCS Rocky Mountain Region kicked off its tenth full season of competition this past weekend in conjunction with the Lucas Oil ASCS National series in Jetmore, KS.

Aztec Speedway has been a traditional ASCS Rocky Mountain stop each year since 2001. This weekend marks the first time for the Arizona-based ASCS Southwest forces to join in on the festivities.

After Johnny Herrera topped every ASCS Regional event at Aztec from 2005 to 2008, El Paso’s John Carney II and South Dakota’s Randi Miller split Aztec victories last year.

Friday’s action fires off at 7:00 p.m., with Saturday’s card going green at 6:00 p.m.

Aztec Speedway is located in Aztec, NM, 1.2 miles south of US 550 on SR 544, then 0.2 miles east on Legion. For more information, contact the track at 505-334-2023.

The tenth year of action for the American Sprint Car Series Rocky Mountain Region is slated to consist of 13 events at six tracks throughout New Mexico, Kansas, Wyoming and Colorado.

The ASCS Southwest Region is currently slated for 19 overall nights of competition in 2010, including 13 nights in Arizona and three New Mexico weekend doubles.

Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Aztec Speedway:
9/19/09 – Randi Miller
9/18/09 – John Carney II
9/19/08 – Johnny Herrera
9/18/08 – Johnny Herrera
5/31/08 – Johnny Herrera
5/30/08 – Johnny Herrera
9/15/07 – Johnny Herrera
9/14/07 – Johnny Herrera
6/3/06 – Johnny Herrera
6/2/06 – Johnny Herrera
6/4/05 – Johnny Herrera
6/3/05 – Jason Martin
6/5/04 – Jason Martin
6/4/04 – Jason Martin
* 7/3/03 – Darren Stewart
6/7/03 – Randi Miller
6/6/03 – Jason Martin
6/1/02 – Nick Haygood
5/31/02 – Rickey Hood
6/2/01 – Lonnie Cox
6/1/01 – Rickey Hood

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at