ASCS Midwest Ready for Holiday Double in Nebraska!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

From Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 28, 2010) – The American Sprint Car Series Midwest Region kicks off the Fourth of July weekend racing festivities with a pair of events in Cornhusker Territory this Thursday and Friday.

The Holiday weekend officially gets under way when the ASCS Midwest Regional forces take to Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, NE, on Thursday night, before then moving on to Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway between Lincoln and Omaha on Friday night.

This weekend’s events mark Rounds Nine and Ten in pursuit of the ASCS Midwest crown, with Lucas Oil ASCS National title contender Jack Dover of Springfield, NE, holding the current edge over Sioux Falls racer Eric Lutz.

Through the opening eight events of the season, only Dover has been able to post a pair of wins with six other drivers each capturing one victory. Lutz snared his first series win of the season last year to close to within 151 points of Dover.

Thursday’s card marks the final ASCS Midwest stop of the season at Junction Motor Speedway, where Aurora, Nebraska’s Ryan Roberts picked off his first career ASCS win by holding off Shane Stewart in Midwest action on May 28.

After Dustin Morgan and Dover opened the season with I-80 victories in April, Shane Stewart broke into I-80 Speedway victory lane on May 27.

Thursday’s card at Junction Motor Speedway goes green at 7:00 p.m., with Friday’s action at I-80 Speedway firing off at 7:00 p.m. as well.

Junction Motor Speedway is located 5.6 miles south of York, NE, off I-80 Exit 353 on US 81, then 0.3 miles west on CR 4. For more information, contact the track at 402-773-5538.

Nebraska Raceway Park’s I-80 Speedway is located in Greenwood, NE, between Lincoln and Omaha off I-80 Exit 420, then 0.4 mile north on SR 63 then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-944-2233.

The ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 23 nights of competition in 2010 at ten different tracks throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota and Iowa.

In its 19th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing, the American Sprint Car Series brings the best of Sprint Car racing to approximately 100 different tracks throughout 30 states and Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Past ASCS Midwest Region Winners at Junction Motor Speedway:
5/28/10 – Ryan Roberts
5/22/09 – Shane Stewart
6/27/08 – Brian Brown
6/29/07 – Brian Brown
5/25/07 – Garry Lee Maier
6/30/06 – Brian Brown
5/26/06 – Jake Peters
5/27/05 – Jason Danley

Past ASCS Regional Winners at I-80 Speedway:
5/27/10 – Shane Stewart (Midwest)
4/17/10 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/16/10 – Dustin Morgan (Midwest)
7/2/09 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
5/21/09 – Chad Humston (Midwest)
4/11/09 – Jonathan Cornell (Midwest)
4/10/09 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
8/14/07 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
4/15/07 – Chuck Swenson (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/14/07 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/15/06 – Billy Alley (Midwest)
7/3/06 – Jake Peters (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
4/8/06 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. Northern Plains)
8/3/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest vs. National)
7/8/05 – Brian Brown (Midwest)
4/15/05 – Terry McCarl (Midwest)

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at