selinsgrove speedway

From Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Following a summer hiatus from racing this past weekend,
Selinsgrove Speedway and Raceway Park will return to action for the second
half of the 2010 season this Friday, July 16 and Saturday, July 17.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present a program of go kart and micro sprint
car racing at 7 p.m. July 16, with track gates opening at 5:30 p.m.

David Utt of Bloomsburg holds a 60-point lead over defending champion and
three-time winner Todd Hoover of Mt. Pleasant Mills in the Selinsgrove Ford
micro sprint car standings entering this weekend’s action.

Following Friday night’s action on the one-fifth mile track, Selinsgrove
Speedway will present a four division show of 358 sprint cars, late models,
pro stocks, and roadrunners on the sweeping fast half-mile oval at 7:30
p.m. July 17. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

Serving the Susquehanna Valley with comprehensive auto body, collision, and
repair services since 1978, Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center of Paxinos,
owned and operated by Jeff and Kathy Kurtz, will sponsor the second annual
Driver & Fan Appreciation Night, featuring lots of prize giveaways.

Entering the second half of the season, 2008 champion Pat Cannon of Etters
leads the A&A Auto Stores standings by 135 points over one-time winner
Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove. Cannon has five wins entering this weekend’s
sprint car racing action.

Three-time defending late model champion Jeff Rine of Danville holds a
convincing 535 point lead over Brett Schadel of Herndon. Rine has five wins
this season and is racing for his sixth career track championship at

Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove will be seeking his fourth consecutive win in
this Saturday’s 25-lap late model feature.

In the Salem RV Center pro stock standings, defending champion and
three-time winner Jason Smith of Williamsport has a 35-point lead over
two-time winner AJ Hoffman of Richfield, currently the closet point chase
of the speedway’s weekly four divisions.

In the Collier Paving & Construction/Byers Built Engines roadrunners,
four-time winner Brad Mitch of McClure holds a 140-point lead over Ricky
Bender of Jolliett entering the next race.

For the latest news and race status, please visit
or call (570) 374-2999.