Rob Chaney Picks Up FAST Win at Attica Raceway Park

by Bryan Autullo – FAST Public Relations

ATTICA, OH (7-30-10)

With the All Star series Thundering Through the Plains out West, a large car count was not expected for Night #17 of the Kistler Racing Products Fremont/Attica Sprint Title presented by SRP Pistons/Engine Pro, but 31 fire-breathing 410 sprints were in attendance at Attica Raceway Park. A combination of great weather and the World of Outlaws Late Models running in conjuction with the FAST 410 sprints brought out a capacity crowd to see some excellent racing action throughout the night.

The heat races provided some great entertainment with Attica’s pill draw system putting several of the fastest cars in the backs of their heat races. Dean Jacobs, Byron Reed, Craig Mintz, and Bryan Sebetto were a few of the drivers forced to start worse than 5th yet managed to make it to the front and into the re-draw (Top 3) in their heat races. Heats were won by Brian Smith, Dale Blaney, Brandon Martin, and Mark Keegan.

Travis Philo had the B-main all but locked up when he jumped Ed Neumeister’s right rear tire going into turn 2 with just a few laps left while trying to put Neumeister a lap down. Philo broke his rear end handing the lead and win to Cole Duncan.

Brandon Martin and Sheldon Haudenschild paced the A-main to the green flag with Martin taking the initial lead over Haudenschild, Rob Chaney and Mark Keegan. While Martin worked the low side of the slicked off track surface while Chaney got around Haudenschild to take second on lap 2 of the 30 lapper. Chaney would then get around Martin to take over the lead on lap four. Martin did not let Chaney get away and raced him hard as Mark Keegan, Haudenschild, Craig Mintz, Dale Blaney and Chris Andrews all waged their own battles behind the leaders. Keegan began to give Martin fits racing for second as Chaney rode the rim out front.

As the leader was catching the back of the field, the caution flew for Duane Zablocki who spun in turn 2. On the restart, Chaney and Martin raced side by side while Mintz rocketed around Keegan into third. Mintz pulled to Martin’s outside to grab second at the mid-point of the race and was setting his sights on Chaney. Martin never lifted making it a three car battle for the top spot.

Martin regained the runner up spot on lap 19 followed by Mintz, Blaney, Keegan, Bryan Sebetto, Dean Jacobs, Phil Gressman, Haudenschild and Byron Reed. Martin got around Chaney to take the lead on lap 21, but Chaney managed to return the favor as the caution came out on lap 22. On the restart Chaney used the slick track to his advantage leaving Martin in his wake to hold off Mintz and Blaney. Blaney was on the move taking third on lap 23 and then second on lap 26. He didn’t have enough laps left to run down Chaney who took the checkers followed by Blaney, Mintz, Martin and Keegan.

“We’ve just been working really good together. Bryan (Grove) kind of puts his input in but he basically lets me do what I think and it’s working real good right now. When I was pushing up for the feature I was thinking I’ve won a lot of races at a lot of different places but there’s no where harder to win one than at this race track,” said Chaney from victory lane.

Attica Raceway Park – Kistler Racing Products FAST 410 Sprints – 7-30-10 (31 Cars)

Heat 1 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 2+-Brian Smith; 2. 97-Dean Jacobs; 3. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild; 4. 91-Aaron Middaugh; 5. 60-Jody Keegan; 6. 78L-Kirk Jeffries; 7. 11N-Ed Neumeister; 8. 70-Steven Lines

Heat 2 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 2-Dale Blaney; 2. 5R-Byron Reed; 3. 45C-Rob Chaney; 4. 3J-Kevin Lee; 5. 22-Cole Duncan; 6. 45L-Brian Lay; 7. 5M-Jamie Miller; 8. 27-Scott Euler

Heat 3 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 11M-Brandon Martin; 2. 16-Bryan Sebetto; 3. 53-Phil Gressman; 4. 1X-Matt Linder; 5. 5T-Travis Philo; 6. 40-Mark Imler; 7. 39-Alex Martin; 8. 98-Bruce Robenalt

Heat 4 – (8 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. X-Mark Keegan; 2. 15C-Chris Andrews; 3. 20X-Craig Mintz; 4. 9Z-Duane Zablocki; 5. 1R-Chad Blonde; 6. 14H-Todd Heller; 7. 28-Shawn Valenti

B-Main – (10 Laps – Top 4 Transfer)
1. 22-Cole Duncan; 2. 1R-Chad Blonde; 3. 45L-Brian Lay; 4. 14H-Todd Heller; 5. 78L-Kirk Jeffries; 6. 28-Shawn Valenti; 7. 39-Alex Martin; 8. 40-Mark Imler; 9. 98-Bruce Robenalt; 10. 27-Scott Euler; 11. 5M-Jamie Miller; 12. 5T-Travis Philo; 13. 11N-Ed Neumeister; 14. 60-Jody Keegan

A-Main – (30 Laps) [#]-Starting Position
1. 45C-Rob Chaney[4]; 2. 2-Dale Blaney[9]; 3. 20X-Craig Mintz[5]; 4. 11M-Brandon Martin[1]; 5. X-Mark Keegan[3]; 6. 97-Dean Jacobs[12]; 7. 16-Bryan Sebetto[8]; 8. 5R-Byron Reed[7]; 9. 53-Phil Gressman[11]; 10. 15C-Chris Andrews[6]; 11. 14H-Todd Heller[20]; 12. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild[2]; 13. 2+-Brian Smith[10]; 14. 1X-Matt Linder[15]; 15. 1R-Chad Blonde[18]; 16. 91-Aaron Middaugh[13]; 17. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[16]; 18. 45L-Brian Lay[19]; 19. 3J-Kevin Lee[14]; 20. 22-Cole Duncan[17]

Night #17 FAST Special Award Winners:
Butlerbuilt B-Main Winner: #22 Cole Duncan
KSE Steering Hard Charger: #14h Todd Heller
Weld Wheels Cool Move of the Race: #14h Todd Heller
Hepfner Racing Products Tough Luck Award: #3j Kevin Lee

Night #17 FAST A-Main Certificate Winners:
1st – Fuel Safe, Zemco Headers, Competition Suspension: #45c Rob Chaney
2nd – R2C Filters, Saldana Racing Products, Kinsler Injections: #2 Dale Blaney
3rd – Ti22 Performance, Keizer Wheels, OC Shocks: #20x Craig Mintz
4th – Outerwears, King Racing Products: #11m Brandon Martin
5th – DMI Race Components: #X Mark Keegan

For more information on admission prices, start times and directions to either Northern Ohio track visit or for more information.

Visit to find out more about the F.A.S.T. Championship Series, the drivers, the rules, the schedule, the sponsors, and more.

Don’t miss out on your chance of getting your hands on some Fremont Attica Sprint Title merchandise before it is sold out! Fans can purchase the 2010 FAST Series T-Shirts (designed by Arizona Sport Shirts) FOR JUST $15.00 at the Action Photos booth at Attica and Fremont or order them online at Show your support for those who go FAST in Northern Ohio as all sales go right into the 2010 points fund! Other items that are still available include the Kistler Racing Products FAST Championship Series & FAST 305 Championship Series decals and the 2009 Season-In-Review DVDs, which includes 4 hours of racing action in a 2-DVD set for just $15.

FAST on Dirt, Inc. would like to thank the following contributors to the 2010 FAST Championship Series point fund:

Kistler Racing Products, Engine Pro, JE/SRP Pistons, Design Graphics Group, Inc, KS Sales & Service, Engler Machine & Tool, Oliver Rods, Henry MotorSports Inc., J&F Construction, Black Swamp Media Group,, Kears Speed Shop, Computer Man, Inc., SCS Gearbox,, Hoserville Ohio,, Level Performance, R&R Auto Wrecking, Reebar Diecasting, The King’s Den, FSR Radiator, Real Geese, Buckeye IT Services, High Vista Video, Racers Racing for a Cure, Gressman Powersports, NAPA (Bryan, OH), Gaerte Engines, Action Photos, PostNet (Fremont, OH), New York Life (Jeremy Shambaugh), Young’s RV Center, October Hills Farms, and OC Shocks

Also, a very special thanks to all of our contingency award sponsors:

R2C Filters, Hepfner Racing Products, TQ Fiberglass, Fuel Safe, Racing Optics, Rocket Headers, Wings Unlimited, VRP Shocks, Kinsler Injections, RAM Engineering Midwest, PRO Shocks, ButlerBuilt, Zemco Headers, Kinser Filters, Outerwears, Inc, DMI Race Components, Keizer Wheels, Linders Speed Equipment, Saldana Racing Products, XXX Race Components, Randy’s Racing Filters, Hinchman Indy Uniforms, King Racing Products, Golden Graphics, OC Shocks, Weld Wheels, KSE Steering, Competition Suspension, Inc, Ti22 Performance, All Pro Heads, FSR Radiator, Speed Meets Art, Productive Tools & Equipment, Arizona Sport Shirts, and Fisher Performance