Golden State King of the West Sprint Car Series Notes & Pertinent Info

2011 King of the West Golden State Sprint Car Series

By Gary Thomas

Marysville Raceway Park – Saturday April 30


The Golden State King of the West Sprint Car Series continues its 2011 season this Saturday night at Paul & Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park. It will be just the second 410 sprint car event held at the track since 1999 after the Golden State Series returned to the facility last season.


The pit gate opens at 3pm on Saturday, the front gate will open at 5 and cars will be hitting the track for wheel packing around 5:30, with qualifying and racing to follow.


The Marysville Raceway Park is located in Marysville, California. From the Junction of HWY 70 and HWY 20 (12th Street), go a quarter-mile east on HWY 20. Turn south onto Ramirez Road for 1.5 miles. The physical address is 1468 Simpson Ln, Marysville, CA 95901. Directions & hotels can be found at


Adult tickets will cost $18 with juniors 10-17 being $15, seniors, disabled and active military also $15, kids 6-9 $10 and children 5 and under free.

About the track:

The Marysville Raceway Park is a quarter-mile semi banked clay oval and has undergone a number of changes in recent years, including upgrades to the facility and a reconfiguration of the track surface. Prior to last season 410 sprint cars hadn’t competed at the track for 10-years. Fast time last season was set by Alissa Geving with a lap of 12.455 seconds.

Last July at Marysville Raceway Park:

The Golden State 410 Series return to the Marysville Raceway Park saw Elk Grove’s Kyle Larson race to victory after an exciting duel with Grass Valley’s Jason Statler. The 18-year-old also took over the series point lead that night, which he would never relinquish. Statler finished second, with Scotts Valley’s Evan Suggs in third, Elk Grove’s Bobby McMahan fourth and Campbell’s Brent Kaeding rounding out the top-five.

Top-10 in KWS points going into this Saturday night:

1. Tim Kaeding 468; 2. Jonathan Allard 443; 3. Evan Suggs 437; 4. Jason Statler 422; 5. Andy Gregg 419; 6. Brent Kaeding 419; 7. Willie Croft 404; 8. Brad Furr 402; Brent Bjork 387; 10. Bobby McMahan 374

On the internet:

Golden State King of the West Sprint Car Series-

Official Website-

Marysville Raceway Park-