Stewart Wins URC/358 Challenge at Selinsgrove

urc United Racing Company Logo

From URC

Selinsgrove, PA — (May 14th, 2011) — The Rislone URC Sprint Series presented their fourth show of the season with the sixth running of the Jack Gunn Memorial 358/360 Sprint Challenge Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway. The Valley Forge Inc event went on under threatening skies as Promoter Charlie Paige moved forward with the show that developed into a thriller. Shane Steward from Indianapolis, IN strapped into the Scott McClaren owned URC sprinter and dominate most of the thirty lap feature. In the closing laps, local favorite Blane Heimbach made several challenges for the win, but each time, Stewart prevailed. Winning Car Owner Scott McClaren won this event the two previous years with Trevor Lewis as the driver. Lewis, elected not to race this year so for this event, McClaren brought in Shane Stewart and at the end of the night, it was the right decision. Stewart collected $3,830 for his night of work.

The Rislone URC Sprints brought nineteen of the forty-two cars that took part in the event. Heat race winners were Pat Cannon, Blane Heimbach, Shane Stewart and Cody Keller as Curt Michael and Randy West won the two “B” Main events. The track was lightening fast as Pat Cannon set a new one lap track record with a time 17.238 at a speed of 110.602 mph. During the running of the second heat race, Blane Heimbach set a new eight lap track record with a time of 2:21:281.

The thirty lap Jack Gunn Memorial feature took the green flag with a twenty-six car starting field. Before the first lap was complete, Randy West tagged the homestretch wall bringing out the caution and ending his night of racing. On the restart, Shane Stewart powered to the lead with Becca Anderson second and in the chase. By lap four, Pat Cannon was second, Anderson third and Blane Heimbach fourth.

As the field completed lap ten, the yellow was displayed for Dave Calaman and Josh Beard who tangled in turn four. On the restart, Stewart returned to his blistering pace with Cannon, Heimbach, Davie Franek and JJ Grasso were in chase of the leader. At the halfway point, Stewart held a comfortable lead and the battle was now between Cannon and Heimbach for second as Grasso and Franek followed in the top five.

The race got very interesting on lap nineteen as Blane Heimbach moved into second and immediately set forth a challenge with Stewart. Heimbach did not give up and just pressured Stewart lap after lap. A red flag on lap twenty-three was displayed for Duane Mausteller who stopped in turn one as Becca Anderson came to a stop on the backstretch.

When green flag racing resumed, so did the battle for the lead. Heimbach was relentless trying both the inside and the outside groove to wrestle the lead from Stewart. With just two laps remaining, Heimbach moved to the outside groove and had a strong run off turn four, but with each attempt, Stewart had just enough to maintain the lead.

With the checker flag waiving, Shane Stewart slipped under the checker flag to score his first URC career win. Blane Heimbach earned a well deserved second place finish with Pat Cannon third, JJ Grasso fourth and TJ Stutts fifth.

FEATURE FINISH: Shane Stewart, Blane Heimbach, Pat Cannon, JJ Grasso, TJ Stutts, Eric Tomecek, Nate Snyder, Larry Kelleher, Davie Franek, Jason Shultz, Jessica Anderson, Curt Michael, Kramer Williamson, Colby Womer, Becca Anderson, Michael Rutikamp, Jason Clauss, Duane Mausteller, Josh Weller, Phil Walter, Dave Calaman, Josh Beard, Tim Hogue, Cody Keller, Bob Beidleman. Randy West.
DNQ- – -Robbie Stillwaggon, Rory Janney, Matt Horst, Troy Betts, Andy Best, Steven Nederostek, Kevin Nouse, Dave Ely, Logan Schuchart, Derek Locke, Ed Aiken, Steve Whary, Ryan Kissinger, Jonathan Swanson, Tim Higgins, Charlie Anderson.

Heat Winners: Pat Cannon, Blane Heimbach, Shane Stewart, Cody Keller.
B Mains: Curt Michael and Randy West
42 Total Cars, 19 URC registered cars, 23 Selinsgrove registered cars.
Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger- – Curt Michael advanced 9 spots
LikeWise Fast Time- -Pat Cannon

Coming URC Race dates in May
MAY 28 Delaware International Speedway
MAY 29 Georgetown Speedway