Four Race Memorial Weekend Set for NCRA Sprinters!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

From David Smith, Jr.

Park City, KS – (May 22nd, 2011) – It will be a busy Memorial Day weekend ahead for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division as the tour is set for a four race swing at three different venues this coming Friday through Monday night.

It all kicks off on Friday night at RPM Speedway in Hays, Kansas for the tours first appearance since July of the 2007 race season with the nights feature finale winner earning $2000. Pit gates open at 4:30 PM with grandstand gates at 5:30 PM. Hot laps are set for 6:30 PM with racing scheduled for a 7:30 PM start time. Adult general admission is $10 for adults, $5 for children ages 5-12 and free for those youngsters 4 and under. RPM Speedway is located off of I-70 at Exit 157 at the Ellis County Fairgrounds. For more race information contact the RPM Speedway office (785) 639-7223.

From there it is on to the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas for the third annual Steve King Memorial and the first time the series will be part of this event in honor of the late Steve King, a former 2002-2003 NCRA sprint car champion. This special Saturday and Sunday night event will be separate point shows with both features paying $3000 to win. It will be a duo series event as the Oklahoma based American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region will also be on hand both nights which will surely satisfy the craving of any true sprint car fan. Both nights will see the pit gates open at 4:00 PM with grandstand gates opening at 5:30 PM. Racing action is slated for a 7:30 PM start time. Saturday night adult tickets are $20 while Sunday night’s event is $25 admission for adults. You can also purchase a two day pass for just $40. Kids ages 11 and under will be admitted free. The Great American Dirt Track is located six and a half miles south of Jetmore on the east side of US 283. For more race information contact the speedway offices (620) 385-0551.

The huge four day Memorial Day weekend swing will come to a close on Monday night at the home facility of the NCRA, 81 Speedway in Park City where Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri picked the season opening victory back on April 2nd in an event that saw a record 49 sprint cars entered. This event will pay $3000 to the nights feature winner. All general admission tickets are just $9 for adults, $5 for children ages 6-10 years of age. Gates open at 5:00 PM with racing action set for 7:00 PM. 81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information, contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

All sprint car drivers need to be reminded that the left rear tire rule will be open for all four of these special events.

Two races have been completed thus far on the 2011 season schedule with Luke Cranston of Plains, Kansas your current series point’s leader and comes into the weekend with a slim 15 point advantage over Salina driver Jon Freeman. C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas currently sits third in the point standings, a mere 20 points out of the top spot while Patrick Stasa of Kingman while rookies Ryan Roberts (Aurora, Nebraska) and Ty Williams (Liberal) are not only fifth and sixth in the point standings respectively but tied atop the rookie of the year points battle as well.

Roberts is the other driver besides Lasoski to have reached victory lane thus far this season, this coming at the last competed event at Dodge City Raceway Park back on May 7th.

Defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita is currently seventh in the point standings, just 80 markers out while former five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City is eighth in the standings. Jason Martin of Liberal and 2009 series champion Mike Peters of Wichita are tied in the ninth position.

Other series regulars expected include Steven Richardson, Brian Herbert, Taylor Velasquez, A.J. Selenke, Justin Schwien, Jeff Stasa, Barry Gifford and Kris Miller.

Out of state drivers also expected to compete in at least two of these events include Matt Covington, Joe Wood, Jr., Andy Shouse, Michelle Decker, Koby Barksdale, Brady Demeree, Rick Wright, Jr., Michael Brown and Donnie Ray Crawford.

For more information on the NCRA of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division, contact them at (316) 755-1781. For more information on the series including the complete 2011 race schedule, point standings, driver profiles and historical information on the 41 year history of the season, check out their new website

The National Championship Racing Association would like to thank the following partners for their support for the 2011 race season:

Official Sponsors: Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels.

Contingency Sponsors: The Brake Man, Saldana Racing Products.