Speedweek Is Next On Port Agenda

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – Port Royal Speedway will be dark on June 25 while speedway surface work is undertaken.

The oval returns to action with two huge shows the following week, Thursday June 30 and Saturday, July 2 with the 21st annual PA Speedweek series for sprint cars.

Both shows feature 30-lap, $5,000 to win main events with pro stocks on the Thursday card and late models joining the sprints on Saturday.

As part of an ongoing effort, refurbishment of speedway grounds continues in 2011 with the most recent project undertaken taking the form of an overhaul of the former scoring tower and race command center located in the infield.

Speedway crews hope to have the project completed before the June 30 speedweek program.

As part of 2011 contingency promotions and giveaways to oval competitors, product certificates continue to be dispersed during weekly racing programs.

Goodyear tire certificates have been awarded to the following 410 sprint competitors and teams: Blane Heimbach, John Brennfleck, Mark Smith, Brian Ehrenzeller, Mike Erdley, Nicole Bower, Greg Hodnett, Tyler Walker, Davey Sammons, Joey Hershey, Todd Shaffer, Bill Jones, Rick Lafferty and Mike Wagner.

The following sprint and late model drivers and teams have been recipients of vouchers towards the purchase of Keizer Aluminum wheels: Stevie Smith, Brian Ehrenzeller, Lance Dewease, Tyler Walker, Rick Lafferty, John Brennfleck, Joey Hershey, Davey Sammons, Cliff Brian, Bob Howard, Waylon Wagner, Tim Wilson, Mitch Hack, Chris Farrell, Jim Yoder, Andy Haus, Eric Zembower and Bob Dunn.

Purchase certificates from Wings Unlimited have gone to the following drivers and teams: Lynton Jeffrey, Doug Esh, Justin Henderson, Lance Dewease, Davey Sammons, Todd Shaffer, Steve Buckwalter and Cliff Brian.

Juniata Tire Sales of Mifflintown has awarded a free tire to the following enduro dash racers: Jen Powell, Mike Goodwin, Deron Henry and Scott Hopple.