Must See Racing Nationals, Dells Raceway Park and Rockford Speedway July 1-3

2011 Must See Racing XTreme Sprint Car Series
2011 Must See Racing XTreme Sprint Car Series

From Jim Hanks

The Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series returns to the fast and fan friendly Dells Raceway Park on Friday and Saturday July 1st & 2nd then moving on to Rockford Speedway on Sunday July 3rd for the inaugural Must See Racing Nationals three day event.

The busy holiday weekend will start at the DRP, in Wisconsin Dells on Friday with qualifying and the special “Crack the Whip” race. The “Crack the Whip” race will have the fastest 12 qualifiers starting fully inverted with the last car to the start/finish line on each lap , beginning on the 3rd lap, eliminated. This last man standing format will have some flat out, stand on the gas, wheel to wheel racing. Saturday will have a full slate of events including qualifying, heat races, B main and a 50 lap feature. Last year MSR regular Dave Baumgartner, in Mike Blake’s #81, set a new Dells Raceway Park track record with a blazing lap time of 11.358 seconds.
On Sunday July, 3rd MSRXSS will invade, for the first time, Rockford Speedway in Loves Park, Illinois. The “World’s Fastest Short Track Cars” will make a full out assault on the track record in qualifying plus heat races, B main and an exciting 50 lap feature event.
The country’s top teams, from seven states, and Canada are expected, including Jason Blonde who recently set the world’s record at the Bristol Motor Speedway’s Speed Trials with an average speed of 144.871 on the half mile track. Others expected to vie for the spotlight are Aaron Pierce, Xtreme Sprint Series winner at Salem Speedway, 2010 MSRXSS Champion Troy DeCaire, David Gough and perennial fan favorite Jeff Bloom.
A crowded roster of racers will be there to challenge, including Hank Lower, Canada’s Ryan Litt, Jimmy McCune, Tim Cox, Jason Cox, Kyle Flint, Mike Larrison, rookie Kyle Wiegand, Jerry Caryer, Ron Kohler, Tom Tolbert, Dave Baumgartner, Jacob Wilson, California’s Jo Jo Helberg and Travis Miniea, among others.
Fans will look forward to a host of entertaining activities during the events, including a “hands-on” show car, t-shirt and merchandise giveaways, along with a driver autograph session. Each night one lucky race fan will win a day driving a sprint car at the Dirt Track Driving School. Also, popular writer and broadcaster, Dave Argabright, will autograph two of his books for two fans picked by a random drawing from general admission ticket holders at each event.
The Dells Raceway Park and the Rockford Speedway events will be televised on a tape-delayed basis with well-known broadcaster Rick Benjamin serving as the play-by-play host, Hall of Fame driver Tom Bigelow providing color commentary and longtime writer and broadcaster Dave Argabright reporting the action in the pits.
The Xtreme Sprint Series features powerful winged sprint cars with 800-plus horsepower are considered the world’s fastest short track racing machines.