Sherman Scores ASCS Canyon Win at USA!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TUCSON, Ariz. (July 2, 2011) – Jeremy Sherman kicked off two full nights of Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region action at USA Raceway by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 30-lap feature atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

The two-time series champion extended his current points lead by claiming his fifth win of the year and 33rd of his career under the ASCS banner.

R.J. Johnson very nearly made it three ASCS Canyon wins in a row, only to break on the final lap and fall to third behind Sherman and defending series champion Charles Davis, Jr. Andrew Reinbold was fourth, with Brandon Lane rounding out the top five.

The rest of the top ten included Mike Martin, Ronnie Clark, Justin Quinn, Bob Ream, Jr., and Chris Bonneau.

Nathan High and Davis, Jr., topped heat race action.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region action continues on Sunday night with the Firecracker 40 at USA Raceway, with racing action firing off at 6:45 p.m.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Results from USA Raceway:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 62-Nathan High, 2. 51-R.J. Johnson, 3. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 93-Justin Quinn, 6. 9-Brandon Lane, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford, 8. 7k-Bruce St. James, 9. 6-Ronnie Clark.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 78-Chris Bonneau, 3. 99-James Aragon, 4. 1-Stevie Sussex, 5. 16-Mike Martin, 6. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 7. 6c-Rex Calderwood, 8. 9x-Ryan Linder.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 3. 51-R.J. Johnson, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 9-Brandon Lane, 6. 16-Mike Martin, 7. 6-Ronnie Clark, 8. 93-Justin Quinn, 9. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 10. 78-Chris Bonneau, 11. 62-Nathan High, 12. 32b-Brian Hosford, 13. 7k-Bruce St. James, 14. 1-Stevie Sussex, 15. 6c-Rex Calderwood, 16. 9x-Ryan Linder, 17. 99-James Aragon.

Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jeremy Sherman 1,429, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 1,323, 3. R.J. Johnson 1,271, 4. Andrew Reinbold 1,137, 5. Ronnie Clark 1,135, 6. Bruce St. James 1,078, 7. Josh Pelkey 1,075, 8. Mike Martin 1,020, 9. Justin Quinn 971, 10. Dalten Gabbard 956.