ASCS Midwest and Warrior Regions Clash at U.S. 36 on Friday!

ASCS Midwest Region American Sprint Car Series Logo

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (July 11, 2011) – A pair of Speedway Motor ASCS Regions are set to lock horns once again atop the ultra-fast high banks of Cameron, Missouri’s U.S. 36 Raceway this Friday night.

Friday marks the second and final time of the 2011 season that the Nebraska-based Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region and the Missouri-based ASCS Warrior Region will mix it up.

The previous Midwest verus Warrior tilt, also at U.S. 36 last month, found a Midwest representative in victory lane with Wayne Johnson taking the Cameron checkered flag just ahead of fellow Midwest shoe Jack Dover. It was Johnson’s first feature triumph since suffering severe leg injuries in July of 2010.

While Johnson will be trying to take National loot in Washington this weekend, Springfield, Nebraska’s Dover is poised to move atop the Midwest point charts with other top Midwest reps including Bryan Gossel (Fort Collins, CO), Lee Grosz (Harwood, ND), Brian Brown (Grain Valley, MO), Billy Alley (Lincoln, NE), Jordan Boston and Gage Dorr (Elmwood, NE).

Leading the Warrior forces into the card is Sprint Car rookie shoe Brad Loyet of Sunset Hills, MO. Loyet, who has finished no lower than seventh in seven Warrior feature events, enters Friday’s action with a 68-point advantage over four-time Warrior champ Randy Martin of California, MO.

Nixa, Missouri’s Kyle Bellm, fresh off his first ASCS Warrior win at Double X on July 3, is exactly 100 points off the lead pace in third, with the rest of the Warrior top ten including Mark Shirshekan (Farmington, MO), Jonathan Cornell (Sedalia, MO), Cody Baker (Lone Jack, MO), Josh Stephens (Buckner, MO), Tyler Blank (California, MO), Austin Alumbaugh (Higginsville, MO) and Evan Martin (California, MO).

Friday’s racing action atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval is set to fire off at 8:00 p.m.

U.S. 36 Raceway is located 50 miles northeast of Kansas City on I-35 to Exit 54, then 6.3 miles west on U.S. 36, then 0.1 mile north on SR 33. For more information, contact the track at 816-675-2279.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

The inaugural season of Speedway Motors Warrior Region action under the ASCS banner currently consists of 17 nights of competition at nine different tracks throughout Missouri and into Kansas.

Past ASCS Regional Winners at U.S. 36 Raceway:
6/17/11 – Wayne Johnson (Midwest vs. Warrior)
7/16/10 – Bronson Maeschen (Midwest)
6/18/10 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
6/19/09 – Jesse Hockett (Midwest)
7/11/08 – Jack Dover (Midwest)
9/7/07 – Jesse Hockett (Midwest)
9/8/06 – Chris Morgan (Midwest)
6/23/06 – Toby Chapman (Midwest)
9/9/05 – Johnny Anderson (Midwest)

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at