Coons captures 75th Anniversary Race at Angell Park

By Bryan Gapinski
Sun Prairie, Wis., July 17—Jerry Coons Jr. captured the “75th Anniversary Night” 30-lap feature Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. The event was co-sanctioned by the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series and POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series. The race capped off a doubleheader weekend and special off-track activites celebrating Badger’s 75-years of sanctioning midget auto racing.
Pole sitter Davey Ray jumped into the lead at the start. Coons made a major position advancement on Lap 4 passing three cars moving into four place. One lap later Coons took over third, and on Lap 7 moved into the runner-up position behind Ray. Brad Kuhn looking for his fourth straight Badger victory, passed nine cars in the first ten laps, after starting in the 17th position.
Coons closed onto the rear bumper of Ray and took the lead on Lap 12, however the caution appeared before the lap was completed putting Ray back into the top position. On the restart Scott Hatton and Chet Gehrke tangled, with an additional five cars being involved in the accident. The race was red flagged to allow safety equipment to remove the cars from the track.
Ray held off Coons on the restart,while Kuhn continued his march through the field into the top five on the restart. Coons made a run on “the cushion” on Lap 17 and took the lead from Ray exiting Turn 2. Coons then increased his lead over Ray, and began lapping the tail of the field with seven laps remaining. Kuhn took over second position, with the caution appearing for a stalled car with four laps remaining.
Coons pulled to a three-car length lead on the restart, and led the final four laps unchallenged driving the Ralph Wilke owned Spike/Toyota No. 5 finishing ahead of Kuhn, fast qualifier Darren Hagen, Ray and Brad Loyet. “The different types of track conditions is what makes Angell Park such a challenge and fun place to race at” commented Coons after the victory.
For the Wilke team it marked their 92nd feature victory at the track. Chad Bogar captured the Badger 600 Micro Series feature. Kuhn now holds a 14-point lead over Bubba Altig heading into the July 24 event at Angell Park.

30-lap Feature: 1. Jerry Coons Jr. 2. Brad Kuhn; 3. Darren Hagen; 4. Davey Ray; 5. Brad Loyet; 6. Bubba Altig; 7. Mike Hess; 8. Scott Hatton; 9. David Budres; 10. Andrew Felker; 11. Daniel Adler; 12. Bryon Walters; 13. Chet Gehrke; 14. Brett Anderson; 15. Gavin Galbraith; 16. Jim Fuerst; 17. Brandon Waelti; 18. Nick Knepper; 19. Robbie Ray; 20. Austin Brown; 21. Kyle Neal; 22. Dalton Armstrong.

15-lap Semi Feature Winner: Kuhn.
10-lap Heat Race Winners: Fuerst, Coons, Gehrke, Loyet.
Fast Time: Hagen, 14.957 seconds.
Cars Present: 28 Feature Lap Leaders: Ray 1-17, Coons 18-30.

Current Badger Midget series points: 1. Brad Kuhn 608; 2. Bubba Altig 594; 3. Mike Hess 573; 4. Scott Hatton 422; 5. Davey Ray 341; 6. Robbie Ray 325; 7. David Budres 308; 8. Davey Ray 301; 9. Bryon Walters 298; 10. Brandon Waelti 271.