By Robert Haugh

The mighty Midgets of the Bay Cities Racing Association are preparing for this weekends 2-day Hall of Fame weekend. Friday night will be round 1 at the 3/8 mile clay Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, CA. This will be a co-sanctioned event with the USAC Western States Midgets and guests WMRA Midgets. Saturday will be the BCRA Hall of Fame induction picnic in Placerville at the El Dorado Fairgrounds, followed by racing action on the ¼ mile clay Placerville Speedway.
2-time BCRA Champion and 2011 BCRA Championship leader Nick Foster Jr. and 2009 BCRA Champion and 2011 USAC-WS Championship leader David Prickett lead the charge into this weekends events. Foster will driving the Fowler Motorsports #1 Beast/Esslinger, while Prickett will be in the #15 Neverlift/Pierovich Motorsports Spike/Van Dyne.
Top contenders include 2011 BCRA Dirt Championship leader Shannon McQueen aboard her #7 Spike/Esslinger, 7-time BCRA Champion Floyd Alvis aboard his #83 Stealth/Buick, Scott Pierovich in the Lance Pierovich #35 Spike/Mopar, Shane Golobic in the Doug Bock #26 Spike/Esslinger, Pete Davis in his “Hothead” #00 Stealth/Esslinger, Britton Bock in his #67 Spike/Esslinger, Matt Streeter in his #14jr Spike/Fontana, Dillon Silverman in the RAM Racing #4a Spike/Ecotec, Nick Chivello in the Blackwell Motorsports #27b Stealth/Ford and Kevin Morris in the Del Morris #17k Spike/Esslinger.
Also vying for victory will be Matt Mitchell in the Sala Racing #19 Spike/Mopar, Rick Holbrook in the Peggy Holbrook #6 Spike/Ecotec, Connor Kassik in the Neverlift Motorsports #15n TCR/Van Dyne, Danny Parker in the Bob Roza #28 Stealth/Esslinger, J.R. Williams in his #74 Stealth/Ecotec, Tom Doherty in the Walker Motorsports #66 Stealth/esslinger, Sean Dodenhoff in his #9 Spike/Fontana, Michael Snider in the Lauren Snider #2k Beast/Ford, Dan Jones in his #75 Spike/Ecotec, Travis Haugh in the Rich Haugh #5h Maxim/Chevy, Ryan Shupe in the Walker Motosports #10 Stealth/Esslinger and driver TBA in the Floyd Alvis #18 Stealth/Esslinger.
USAC drivers expected will be Cory Kruseman in the Kruseman Motorsports #21k Spike/Esslinger, Jake Swanson in the Swanson Motorsports #05 Stealth/Honda, Cody Swanson in the Kirk Swanson #71 Edmunds/Van Dyne, Randi Pankratz in the Wally Pankratz #8 Edmunds/Fontana, Jonathon Henry in the Ken Graunstadt #88 Ellis/Fontana and Chris Ennis in the Martens #97 TCR/Esslinger.
The BCRA Midget Lites will also be joining the Midgets for Saturday nights race at Placerville Speedway and the Vintage Division will be on display during the picnic. There are still tickets available for the picnic and the order form can be found on the BCRA website. Reserved tickets are $15 for Adults and $5 for Children, with prices going up to $20 an Adult at the picnic.
Follow along at www.bcraracing.com for news and results.