urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Minersville, PA — (August 12, 2011) — Dave Ely of West Lawn, PA won the twenty-five lap Rislone URC Sprint Series feature event on Friday night at the Big Diamond Raceway. It was Valley Forge INC Night and in the feature event, Dave Ely took the lead on lap three from Tim Hogue then held off a late race charge from seven time URC champion Curt Michael. A late race caution brought Michael to the rear bumper of the Dave Ely sprinter with just six laps remaining. Michael of Ocean View, DE remained within striking distance of the leader but ran short of time to make a challenge for the win.

A field of thirty URC sprints took part in the program with heat race wins going to Tim Hogue, Dave Ely and Art Liedl as Jimmy Stitzel won the “B” Main.

In the twenty-five lap feature, Tim Hogue jumped to the early lead and set the pace for the first two laps. The caution was displayed before the completion of lap three for Robbie Stillwaggon and Joe Zuczek who tangled in turn three. On the restart, Dave Ely took the lead followed by Art Liedl. Curt Michael made the move of the race on lap three, advancing at least six spots and now racing in third.

At the halfway point of the race, Ely had a comfortable lead over Curt Michael, Art Liedl, Tim Hogue and Jonathan Swanson. Dave Martin brought out the yellow flag on lap fifteen when he spun exiting the track in turn one. As the laps ticked by, Ely was slicing his way through lapped traffic with Curt Michael in the hunt and closing.

A wild crash on lap nineteen brought out the red flag for Jonathan Swanson who was running in the top five. Swanson took a series of wild flips offer the backstretch and into the infield. Swanson walked away uninjured but his car received extensive damage.

The restart saw Ely and Curt Michael nose to tail as the green flag fell;. With each lap, Michael worked multiple grooves to find the fastest lane but Ely was dialed into perfection. This win was going to Dave Ely with Curt Michael a solid second followed by Art Liedl, Josh Weller and Tim Hogue.

FEATURE : Dave Ely, Curt Michael, Art Liedl, Josh Weller, Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson, Randy West, Mark Bitner, Rory Janney, Troy Betts, Ed Aikin, Andy Best, Jason Clauss, Jeff Fithian, Jimmy Stitzel, Eddie Wagner, Jessica Anderson, Ryan Kissinger, Gary Gollub, Steve Whary, Jonathan Swanson, Dave Martin, Robbie Stillwaggon, Joe Zuczek, Dennis Garl, DNQ- – Tracy Potter, Tim Higgins, Charlie Anderson, Joey Biasi, JJ Grasso.

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger – – -Curt Michael advanced 8 spots
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night- – -Curt Michael
Engler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – Tim Hogue
Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – – Dave Ely
Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- – Art Liedl
Bar’s Leaks “B” Main- – – Jimmy Stitzel