Worth the Wait! Stampede kicks off with heat race action!

lernerville speedway
lernerville speedway

From Eric Westendorf

2011 Track Champions Hess, Shingledecker and Miller win heats
Other notable heat race winners include Holtgraver, Lutz, Weller, Murdick, CMac, Kelley and Schneider

Sarver, PA (October 22, 2011) The DIRTcar Round Up Steel City Stampede saw the green flag almost 48 full hours late, but it was worth the wait! Over 200 cars packed the pits and once again spilled over into the pits for just the second time in the rich 40+ year history of Don Martin’s Lernerville Speedway.

The night started with a shock as Ti22 Sprint car future Hall of Famers Ed Lynch Jr. and Dale Blaney flipped in tandem in turn two on the opening lap of the weekend’s first heat race. With Lynch and Blaney off the track, 2010 Track Champion Danny Holtgraver ran away with the win by over half a lap. Mike Lutz did the same thing in heat two behind the wheel of the iconic Ferkel Circle.

PPMS star Brandon Burgoon won his heat after leader Jared Miley broke midrace. Dave Hess Jr. held off a fierce challenge by Tommy Beck, now behind the wheel of the Pitkavish #1. In the final Precise Late Model heat race, Chad Valone used a late race restart to take the win over Garrett Krummert.

The Diehl Mods action this weekend is also the BRP Modified Tour finale, and while Rex King Sr. clinched his fifth BRP crown, it was Jim Weller Jr., 2011 Lernerville Track Champion Jeremiah Shingledecker and Dave Murdick taking heat race victories.

The Pic-A-Part Sportsman heats were won by a Who’s Who of 2011 Lernerville feature winners as Corey McPherson, Joe Kelley, Chris Schneider and Mike Miller all took checkers in their respective heat races. This Fab Four of Fab Four Racing won 11 of the 13 features this season.

Heat race winners in other divisions were Colton Flinner, Mike Laughard and Josh Double in the UMP Pro Late Models; Sean Shingledecker, Dave Hess Jr., Bill Taylor and Joel Watson in the UMP/UEMS EMods; Chris Hickok and Adam Pletcher in the 4-Cylinders; and Doug Williams, Jeff Teeters and Cody Bova in the Mod Lites.

Tomorrow’s action kicks off at 3:00 with hot laps followed by consolation races, features and capped off with a 100-lap Enduro.

The Lernerville Speedway would like to thank Precise Racing Products for donating $200 in Gift Cards which will be awarded to heat race winners of the Fab Four Racing divisions and all eight feature winners tomorrow afternoon.

We’d also like to congratulate former Pure Stock Champion Mike Pegher Jr., pilot of Lynn Geisler’s #1 Cochran FASTRAK Late Model, for winning tonight’s $30,000 FASTRAK Grand National Championship in Bulls Gap, TN. Super Late Model star Robbie Blair took second, solidifying a solid representation for FASTRAK Northeast and Western PA race fans! Congrats Mike and Robbie!!

For complete heat race results log on to www.Lernerville.com!