By Scott Daloisio

(Perris, CA, October 28, 2011) The 2nd Annual Legend’s of Ascot Match Race, which is less than one week away, will now pay the winner a cool $10,000.00. The race will take place at the conclusion of night #2 of the 16th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals, at “Southern California’s Home of Major League Sprint Car Racing,” Perris Auto Speedway, on Friday, November 4th.

Longtime Southern California sprint car supporter Lois Ward pushed the winner’s share to the five digit mark earlier this week when she decided to sponsor one of the four-lap races in the memory of her late husband Dave. Dave Ward had a lifelong association with Southern California sprint car racing where he wore many hats over the years including being a driver, official and crew chief. Included in his illustrious racing profile is the fact that he was involved with the construction of legendary Ascot Park in Gardena.

The Legend’s of Ascot Match race will match Illinois drivers Levi Jones (Olney, IL) and defending Oval Nationals champion Chris Windom (Canton, IL) against California stars Mike Spencer of Temecula, Nic Faas of Huntington Beach and Kyle Larson of Elk Grove. The five drivers will contest four, four lap races that will each pay points. The driver who earns the most points will take home the $10,000.00 first place prize money.

Fans can watch the entire Oval Nationals, including the Legends of Ascot Match Race, live online at: http://pasvideo.com/. The cost will be $9.99 on Thursday and Friday and $14.99 on Saturday. The live coverage will be blacked out within a 100-mile radius around the track, but will be available to everyone “On Demand” early the next week.

After Friday’s race, fans, racers and officials will be welcome to attend the “Oil Twins Amsoil After the Race Party” in The PAS sports bar just behind the main grandstands. Admission to the party will be free and there will be $2.00 beer, $1.00 tacos and Karaoke.

In addtiion to Lois Ward, the following companies and individuals have also pledged their support to the Legends of Ascot Match Race. The Estrella WarBird Museum and Woodland Automobile Display, Malibu Towing, T-Shirts by Timeless, The Allsprint Ranch (Carl Alleman), Anonymous Racing Fan, The Agajanian Family, Decore Plating (Don Argo), La Villa Catering (John Gardner), Total Seal, TR Designs (Tom Roberts), Donovan Engineering, Foremost Coating (Don Claypool), Doug’s Auto Body, Bondio Fabrication, Sander Engineering, Ed Iskenderian, Buzz Rose Publications, Danny Sheridan, Thunderhead and Doug Allen Photography. If you would like to donate to the purse, please give Bobby Michnowicz a call at: (310) 347-6661. All of the money donated goes to the drivers.

The official entry blank for the Oval Nationals is available by clicking the following link: http://www.perrisautospeedway.com/forms/oval11form.html

Advance tickets for the 16th Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals are available now by calling: 1 800 595-4849 or (951) 940-0134. You can also order tickets online at: http://pas.tix.com/Schedule.asp?OrganizationNumber=7

Tickets will also be available at The PAS souvenir stand at all races.

A complete list of past Budweiser Oval Nationals champions appears below.

To keep up with all of the latest Perris Auto Speedway news, photos, gossip and receive special offers, sign up at The PAS Facebook site at: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Perris-Auto-Speedway/113876798686480

You can also keep up with the latest news and receive special offers from The PAS Twitter site: http://twitter.com/perrisautospdwy.

Perris Auto Speedway wants to thank its corporate sponsors for the 2011 season. Aaron’s, Ahern Rentals, All Coast Construction, Amsoil, Ayers Hotel and Spa, Budweiser, Champion Towing, City of Perris, Comfort Inn, Comunidad Latina, Daytona Boat & RV Storage, Frazee Paint, Hoosier Tires, JD Fields Lumber, K&N Engineering, P.I.P.E., Pepsi-Cola, Pick-A-Part Auto Salvage, Prolong Super Lubricants, Soboba Casino, Square H, Temecula Valley Pipe & Supply, Trench Shoring, US Foods, Valley Auto Salvage and Zanzabuku Sports Lounge.

For more information call The PAS at: (951) 940-0134.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one hour east of Los Angeles and one hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

Video and DVD productions of all racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Jeff Kristensen’s Raceway Video. For more information on these productions you can call: (818) 618-9764 or visit the web site at: http://racewayvideo.com/

mailto:racesatthepas@aol.com is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment


1996 – Jimmy Sills

1997 – Rip Williams

1998 – Rodney Argo

1999 – Rickie Gaunt

2000 – Tony Jones

2001 – Bud Kaeding

2002 – Bud Kaeding

2003 – Cory Kruseman

2004 – Cory Kruseman

2005 – Dave Darland

2006 – Dave Darland

2007 – Bud Kaeding

2008 – Jesse Hockett

2009 – Damion Gardner

2010 – Chris Windom

The 2011 Perris Auto Speedway schedule is listed below.

October 29th: PASSCAR “CHAMPIONS NIGHT” Super Stocks, Street Stocks, Modifieds, Factory Stocks, CDCRA Dwarf Cars and 2nd Annual Oil Twins Challenge

November 3rd: Budweiser “Oval Nationals”

November 4th: Budweiser “Oval Nationals” & California Lightning Sprints

November 5th: Budweiser “Oval Nationals” & California Lightning Sprints