Selinsgrove Returns With Late Model Spring Championship plus Sprint Cars

selinsgrove speedway

By Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will present the first championship race of the season for the Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center late models at 7 p.m. this Saturday, April 28, plus a complete program of 358 sprint car, pro stock, and roadrunner racing. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

The spring championship race will feature the late models in a 30-lap main event paying $2,000 to win and $200 to start. Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format.

MAX Media radio stations B98.3 and Y106.5 of Selinsgrove will be at the speedway from 5-7 p.m. broadcasting a live remote. Race fans can tune into the stations this week for a chance to win passes to this weekend’s racing program.

In the 2011 spring championship race, Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, who won this year’s season opener, set fast time and took the checkered flag in the main event for his only win at the track last year. Defending champion Jeff Rine of Danville also has a win at the Snyder County oval this season.

Yoder and Rine are currently tied in the point standings entering this weekend’s racing action.

In the A&A Auto Stores 358 sprint car point standings, Pat Cannon of Etters and Mark Smith of Sunbury, each with a victory in the 358 sprint division at the track, are also tied in the standings.

Defending pro stock and roadrunner champions AJ Hoffman of Richfield and Bob Bussey of Northumberland lead the point standings in their respective divisions.

Division and race sponsor Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center, located at 5446 Snydertown Road, has been serving the Susquehanna Valley with comprehensive auto body, collision, and repair services since 1978. There’s also a recycling center at the facility where scrap metals can be disposed.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will return to action at 7 p.m. this Friday, April 27, with go karts and micro sprint cars. In the Selinsgrove Ford standings, one-time winner Nathan Ritter of Selinsgrove leads single-time winner Cameron Englehart of Mifflinburg by 50 points in the early season chase for the championship after three races.

For a complete schedule, the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2999.