urc United Racing Company Logo

urc United Racing CompanyFrom URC

Delmar, DE — (June 9, 2012) — It was just a matter of time and it only took four races for Ryan Bohlke of Fredon, NJ to make his first visit to the Rislone URC Sprint Series victory lane, and Saturday night at the Delaware International Speedway, it happened in convincing style.

Bohlke was fast right out of the gate, winning the first heat race of the night and setting fast on his way to the victory on Taylor & Messick Night. Bohlke led the entire twenty-five distance, but four double-file restarts in the second half of the race, made it all very interesting. On three of those restarts, Chad Trout, Randy West and Robbie Stillwaggon each had a shot to wrestle the lead from Bohlke, but with each restart, Bohlke delivered the right moves. “I like the double file restarts and it sure made it interesting for me, as well as the race fans”, Bohlke continued to say, “But I think I’ll like the double file restarts better when I’m deeper in the pack verses sitting on the pole”.

URC Rislone heat winners included Ryan Bohlke, Chad Trout and Josh Weller.

In the twenty-five lap URC Sprint feature, Bohlke set the pace at the drop of the green followed by Chad Trout and Josh Weller. By lap three, Weller was in second and reeling in the leader. The first caution of the event was displayed on lap four when three cars tangled in turn two.

Before the race resumed, runner-up Josh Weller developed a flat tire and retired to the pits. Weller was unable to re-enter the race prior to the drop of the green flag.

On the restart, Bohlke, Trout and Randy West were the front runners followed by Andy Best and Robbie Stillwaggon. David Swanson brought on the next caution, this time on lap ten. A single fine restart was the order of the day and once again, Bohlke was setting a blistering pace followed by Chad Trout, Randy West, Stillwaggon and Best. The top five remained unchanged at the halfway point of the race. The caution was then displayed, this time for Jimmy Stitzel who spun on lap thirteen.

The first double-file restart of this feature saw Randy West get a strong jump and take over the runner-up spot with Trout, Stillwaggon and Ed Aikin now in the top five. A third yellow flag was displayed on lap fifteen and when the race restarted, Bohlke now had to contend with Randy West in the battle for the leade as Stillwaggon, Aikin and Chad Trout followed.

Joey Biasi brought out the yellow on lap eighteen and on the restart, Bohlke had Stillwaggon on the outside of the front row offering up a challenge for the lead. Stillwaggon stayed with Bohlke into turn one and two but down the backstretch, Bohlke pulled away. Stillwaggon followed in second with Randy West third.

The final caution of the race was displayed on lap seventeen, when Ed Aikin drifted off the track in turn four displaying the yellow flag.

With the field back to double-file restarts, Robbie Stillwaggon had one last chance to challenge for the lead, restarting on the outside of Bohlke on lap nineteen.

With the green flag waiving, Bohlke drove a flawless line into turn one with Stillwaggon offering up an immediate challenge. Five laps remained with Bohlke on point and Stillwaggon still in second followed by West, Chad Trout and Kevin Darling.

Although Stillwaggon made the best challenge for the win of the night, the victory remained in the hands of Ryan Bohlke. Randy West took third by inches over Chad Trout with Andy Best delivering a solid top five finish.

Former URC Champion JJ Grasso returned to URC on Saturday night, but after a tangle with another car, Grasso, driving the Ken Eldreth Construction sprint car flipped in turn two and was eliminated from competition the balance of the night.

Engler Tool & Machine Heat 1- – -Ryan Bohlke
Brad Penn Oil Heat 2 – – – Chad Trout
Pioneer Pole Buildings Heat 3 – – -Josh Weller
Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger- – – Tim Kelly advanced 9 spots
LikeWise Fast Time- – -Ryan Bohlke

FEATURE FINISH: Ryan Bohlke, Robbie Stillwaggon, Randy West, Chad Trout, Andy Best, Kevin Darling, Davie Franek, Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson, Tim Kelly, Joey Biasi, Jonathan Swanson, Art Liedl, Troy Betts, Jimmy Stitzel, Scott Lutz, Ed Aikin, Joe Zuczek, Steve Downs, David Swanson, Luke Thomas, Jeff Fithian, Josh Weller, Denny Garl, DNQ Dan Mazy, JJ Grasso

(In all URC features, laps 1-12 are single file restarts, laps 13 -23 are double file and restarts within the final two laps are again single file)