Waelti snaps two win streaks at Angell Park

By Bryan Gapinski
Sun Prairie, Wis., June 10—Brandon Waelti regained the lead with four laps remaining to win the 30-lap Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. The victory was the first for the hometown driver since capturing the 2008 season opening event. The victory also snapped a 49-race win less streak at the track for Wisconsin drivers.Waelti also scored the last victory for a Wisconsin driver at the track on August 5, 2007.
Bubba Altig jumped into the lead at the start followed by Waelti, Scott Hatton and fast qualifier Davey Ray. Altig continued to hold the advantage over the field until he began lapping slower cars on Lap 16. Waelti passed Altig for the one lap later entering Turn 2. Ray running the cushion moved into second position with ten laps remaining and began challenging Waelti for the lead.
Ray edged Waelti at the start/finish line to lead Lap 26, while Hatton also moved into second place. At the same time the leaders approached two lapped cars. The two cars slowed the lead pack and Waelti made a great pass to regain the top position.
Waelti driving the Huston Solution owned Stealth/Mopar No. 51 finished one-car length ahead of teammate Hatton, Ray, Altig and Mike Hess in the non-stop event. five car lengths separted the top five at the finish. Hatton now holds a nine point lead over Altig heading into the June 22 event at Macon (Ill.) Speedway.
Defending Series Champion Chad Bogar took the lead on the second lap and easily won the 15-lap Badger 600 Micro Series feature, finishing ahead of Jason Dull, Jason Tetrault, Gunner Cummings, Preston Benisch, Bill Truskey and fast qualifier Scott Crawford.

30-lap Feature: 1. Brandon Waelti; 2. Scott Hatton; 3. Davey Ray; 4. Bubba Altig; 5. Mike Hess; 6. Daniel Robinson; 7. Travis Berryhill; 8. Riley Emmel; 9. Kevin Olson; 10. Kurt Mayhew; 11. Vance Lein; 12. Jim Fuerst; 13. Bryon Walters 14. David Budres; 15. Cody Wisensel.

10-lap Heat Race Winners: Berryhill, Ray.
4-lap Non-Qualifers Race Winner: Mayhew.
Fast Time: Ray, 14.948 seconds
Cars Present: 16 Feature Lap Leaders: Altig 1-18, Waelti 19-25, Ray 26, Waelti 27-30.

Current Badger Midget Series points: 1. Scott Hatton 293; 2. Bubba Altig 284; 3. Daniel Robinson 270; 4. Danny Stratton 267; 5. Davey Ray 265; 6. Brandon Waelti 265; 7. Mike Hess 213; 8. Jake Blackhurst 198; 9. David Budres 161; 10. Cody Wisensel 123.