Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Notes & Pertinent Info

2011 King of the West Golden State Sprint Car Series

By Gary Thomas

Antioch Speedway – Saturday June 23


Following a weekend off the Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear will be back in action this Saturday night June 23 at the always action-packed Antioch Speedway. The tour opened the season at the track on April 7 and this week’s event will mark round 12 in the fight for the year-long King of the West crown.

Two-time Golden State champion Jonathan Allard of Chico leads the KWS standings going into Saturday night and has begun to heat up with the summer months kicking into gear. Allard captured his third series victory of the season at Silver Dollar Speedway on June 8 and also won a non-sanctioned event on June 10 at Cottage Grove Speedway in Oregon.

Completing the top-five in points coming into the Antioch Speedway show on Saturday are last year’s champion Tim Kaeding of San Jose, 2011 runner up Evan Suggs from Scotts Valley, National Sprint Car Hall of Famer & 13-time champ Brent Kaeding of Campbell and ’09 Silver Dollar Speedway track champion Bobby McMahan of Elk Grove.

National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Jimmy Sills will also return to competition on Saturday driving for Dan Simpson Racing in the No. 4s sprinter. “The Professor” had a solid showing at Southern Oregon Speedway on June 9, qualifying second fast overall and finishing runner up in the dash, during what was just his 3rd 410 Winged race in a number of years.

Other drivers set to be on hand Saturday will include Dirt Cup prelim winner Peter Murphy, former Golden State champ Jason Statler, Sacramento’s Willie Croft, Placerville’s Andy Gregg, Fresno’s Craig Stidham, Fremont’s Shane Golobic and many more.


On Saturday June 23 the front grandstand gate will be open at 5pm. Hot laps are scheduled for 6pm, with qualifying at 6:30pm and racing anticipated to start around 7pm.


Antioch Speedway is located on the Contra Costa County Fairgrounds at the corner of 10th and L Streets in Antioch, California. Take SR-4 East (Highway 4) to the Somersville Road North Exit. Follow Somersville Road to 10thStreet. Turn Right on 10th Street. The address for the track is 1201 W. 10th Street Antioch, CA 94509.

About the track:

The Antioch Speedway was lengthened and re-configured prior to the 2009 season and is now a one-third mile semi-banked dirt oval. This past April saw the KWS track record fall at the Antioch Speedway when Chico’s Jonathan Allard ripped the clay in 11.756 seconds.

Past winners of local 410 Sprint Car events at Antioch Speedway since 410 racing returned to the facility in 2003 are:

2012- Tim Kaeding in April

2011- Jonathan Allard in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2010- Jonathan Allard in April and Kyle Larson in July

2009- Tyler Walker in April and Brent Kaeding in July

2008- Tyler Walker in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2007- Brent Kaeding in April and Tim Kaeding in July

2006- Dennis Moore Jr. in July

2005- Lawrence Edlund in April and Robert Ballou in July

2004- Brent Kaeding in April and Brent Kaeding in July

2003- Jason Statler in July


Tickets will be available the day of the race with adults being $20, children 6-12 $10, seniors 65 & older $10 and children 5 & under free. A family pack with two adults & two children will also be available for $50.

This past April at Antioch Speedway:

Last year’s KWS champion Tim Kaeding opened the 2012 season in victorious fashion at the Antioch Speedway on April 7 aboard the Roth Motorsports No. 83 mount. “TK” led all 30-laps in the main event and held off a late charge from Jonathan Allard, who came home in second. Rounding out the top-five were Rico Abreu, Kyle Larson and Bobby McMahan.

Top-15 in Cancen Oil KWS presented by Goodyear points going into Saturday:

1. Jonathan Allard 1677; 2. Tim Kaeding 1653; 3. Evan Suggs 1550; 4. Brent Kaeding 1547; 5. Bobby McMahan 1522; 6. Peter Murphy 1504; 7. Jason Statler 1492; 8. Willie Croft 1481; 9. Andy Gregg 1458; 10. Craig Stidham 1345; 11. Chad Compton 1174; 12. Doug Gandy 1076; 13. Pat Harvey 987; 14. Danielle Simpson 959; 15. Kyle Hirst 850

Winners so far this season with KWS:

April 7 – Antioch Speedway Tim Kaeding;
April 21 – Marysville Raceway Park Jonathan Allard;
April 28 – Placerville Speedway Tim Kaeding;
May 5 – Silver Dollar Speedway Jonathan Allard;
May 11 – Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway Kyle Larson;
May 12 – Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway Rico Abreu;
May 26 – Calistoga Speedway Tim Kaeding;
May 27 – Calistoga Speedway Rico Abreu;
June 2 – Kings Speedway Bud Kaeding;
June 8 – Silver Dollar Speedway Jonathan Allard;
June 9 – Southern Oregon Speedway Tim Kaeding;

Upcoming events for KWS:

Saturday June 23 – Antioch Speedway

Saturday June 30- Placerville Speedway

Saturday July 7- Ocean Speedway “HK Classic”

Saturday July 14- Thunderbowl Raceway “Sharp Memorial”

On the internet:

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear-

Official Website-

Antioch Speedway-

Official Website-