Grasso Wins Non-Stop URC Feature at Potomac Speedway

urc United Racing Company Logo

urc United Racing Company LogoFrom Bob Miller


Budds Creek, MD — (July 26, 2013) — JJ Grasso of Middletown, DE scored his second win of the season and twenty-third career Rislone URC Sprint Series victory Friday night at the Potomac Speedway in Budds Creek, MD.   Grasso started eight in the twenty-five lap feature and took the lead on lap fourteen from Ed Aikin.   Once in front Grasso was never challenge and he ran not stop to collect the $2,000 first place prize.


Heat race winners include Ed Aikin, Dan Mazy and Robbie Stillwaggon and the three qualifying events ran off non-stop.


In the twenty-five lap feature Ed Aikin was the early race leader followed by Dan Mazy.   By lap two,  eighth place starter JJ Grasso was up to third and chasing down Mazy.   Grasso moved into second on lap six  and now had his eyes set for the runner-up spot.   With each lap. Grasso inched closer to race leader Ed Aikin.


By the halfway point of the race, Grasso caught Aikin and was challenging for the lead as Robbie Stillwaggon, Dan Mazy and Chad Trout followed in the top five.


One lap later, Grasso made the move off turn two with a strong run down the backstretch to take the lead.   Aikin appeared to have some problem and it was later reported that he lost brakes all together.   GraSSO   quickly developed a big lead as Stillwaggon caught Aikin the battle for second.


With the white flag waiving, Stillwaggon moved into second but out of sight of the leader.   With the checker flag waiving, Grasss took the win over Stillwaggon,  Aikin, Mazy and Chad Trout.


Feature Finish:   JJ Grasso, Robbie Stillwaggon, Ed Aikin, Dan Mazy, Josh Weller, Chad Trout,  Brian Carber,  Art Liedl, Davie Franek, Troy Betts, Kevin Darling, Tyler Ross, Randy West, Jonathan Swanson, Scott Lutz, Keith Prutzman, Dan Mazy, Kameron Darling, David Swanson