usac United States Auto Club 2012 logo

By Dick Jordan
usac United States Auto Club 2012 logo
Who will be the first two-time champion of the USAC DMA Midget Series? Or will somebody unseat point leaders Kevin Chaffee and Joe Krawiec from the top two spots in the standings after this Saturday night’s race at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, Vt?

Chaffee, the defending champion, and Krawiec, the 2011 titlist, are just two points apart entering Saturday’s race. But Scott Viets is just 24 behind the leader. Amazingly, none has found victory lane in the seven 2013 races held to date.

Chaffee’s best outings have produced a pair of second and a third, while Krawiec has a similar podium record. Viets has a second and two thirds.

The unpredictable series has had five winners so far this year, with Adam Pierson landing three wins in the last four races. Pierson resides in the number six point position. Other 2013 winners include fourth-ranking Josh Sunn, fifth-ranking Ray Miller, seventh-ranking Scott Holcomb and 10th-ranking Dylan Duhaime.

2013 USAC DMA MIDGET POINTS: 1-Kevin Chaffee-445, 2-Joe Krawiec-443, 3-Scott Viets-421, 4-Josh Sunn-388, 5-Ray Miller-376, 6-Adam Pierson-373, 7-Scott Holcomb-361, 8-Dean Christenson-360, 9-Timothy Gallant-342, 10-Dylan Duhaime-327.