Silver Anniversary Port Royal All Stars Appearances For Tuscarora Races This Weekend

Port Royal Speedway Logo

Port Royal Speedway LogoFrom Port Royal Speedway


Port Royal – (September 5, 2013) – The UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions Sprints will make their final appearances of the season at Port Royal Speedway this Friday and Saturday as part of the 46th annual Tuscarora 50 races for 410 sprints at the Juniata County Fair.


Racing action both nights gets underway at 7 pm.


The weekend programs will mark the 25th and 26th times in history that the circuit has raced at the storied facility, racing for the first time at the oval back in 1981 when Lynn Paxton took the victory.


The series had a sparse existence in Juniata County during the 1980s, appearing only once more, in 1987 when Bobby Allen was the winner.


After that it would be 1994 until the club returned to the oval and began a more frequent visitation schedule to the track.


Lance Dewease took that 1994 victory and over the years he would record three more Port All Stars wins but no driver has won more All Stars shows at Port Royal than Greg Hodnett of Thomasville.


Hodnett owns five on his career including a sweep of the Tuscarora 50 races in 1998 plus single wins in 2007, 20011 and 2012.


At last season’s Night Before The 50 event history was made at Port Royal when for the first time ever a traveling All Star card-carrier took a Port victory.


Dale Blaney of Hartford, OH., became the first bona fide circuit chaser to ever win a sanctioned event at historic Port Royal when he took the win on Friday night.


Saturday’s Tuscarora 50 was a rousing event with Doug Esh coming on late to score his second Tuscy’ triumph.


Esh then returned in April of this season to win the Weikert Memorial and make it back-to-back Port Royal All Stars triumphs coming into this weekend’s action.


Saturday’s 46th annual Tuscarora 50 will offer a one-night purse of nearly $42,000 including a paid B Main, $12,000 to the winner and $500 just to start the prestigious event.


Each lap of Saturday’s 50 will pay $25 to lead.


Ramsey’s Car Washes of Mifflintown is the title sponsor of the Saturday night Tuscarora 50.


One provisional will be added to the Tuscarora 50 field on Saturday, awarded to the highest driver in Port Royal points to date who starts the B Main but fails to qualify for the show.


Friday’s Night Before The 50 show will include a 30-lap main event paying $5,000 to win and $400 to start.


Packer’s Concessions of Centre Hall is sponsoring fast time for both nights, worth $100 to each quick-timer.


Admission to the Juniata County Fair is free both nights of this year’s Tuscarora races on Friday and Saturday.


Adult general admission for Friday’s races that includes a full regular program of super late models is $25 with students ages 12 – 18 admitted for JUST $5.


Adults are priced at $30 for the Saturday Tuscarora 50 with students again priced at JUST $5.  Pro stocks are also on the card with a regular program.


Time trials will set the starting grids for both nights’ programs of sprint car racing.




Port Royal All Star Circuit of Champions Winners


June 24, 1981                         Lynn Paxton                    40 Laps

April 25, 1987                        Bobby Allen                    30 Laps

August 31, 1994                   Lance Dewease               30 Laps

June 13, 1995                         Lance Dewease              30 Laps

August 29, 1996                   Don Kreitz Jr.                  30 Laps

June 12, 1997                         Lance Dewease              30 Laps (completed July 25)

July 25, 1997                          Billy Pauch                     30 Laps

July 22, 1998                          Todd Shaffer                  30 Laps

September 11, 1998              Greg Hodnett                  30 Laps

September 12, 1998              Greg Hodnett                  50 Laps

September 10, 1999              Dave Ely                          25 Laps

September 11, 1999              Don Kretiz Jr.                  50 Laps

June 8, 2000                           Sean Michael                  30 Laps

June 18, 2005                         Todd Shaffer                   30 Laps

May 20, 2006                         Lance Dewease               30 Laps

June 14, 2007                         Greg Hodnett                  30 Laps

May 10, 2008                         Jeff Shepard                    30 Laps

May 9, 2009                           Stevie Smith                    25 Laps

May 10, 2009                         Stevie Smith                    30 Laps

April 30, 2011                        Greg Hodnett                 30 Laps

April 28,2012                         Greg Hodnett                 30 Laps

September 7, 2012                Dale Blaney                    30 Laps

September 8, 2012                Doug Esh                        50 Laps

April 27, 2013                        Doug Esh                        30 Laps