Brawl for It All Saturday at CSP!

canyon speedway park logo


Lonnie Wheatley

PEORIA, Ariz. (September 23, 2013) – There’s nothing like a good old fashioned showdown.canyon speedway park logo


And that’s exactly what is on tap for Canyon Speedway Park this Saturday night as the USAC Southwest Sprint Car forces square off with the invading USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series atop the 1/3-mile clay oval for a $2,500 winner’s share in the Second Annual “Brawl for It All”.


While R.J. Johnson and Danny Faria, Jr., lead the way into the second of three scheduled “Grudge” matches on the season, the LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints and AMA Mod Lites will be in action as well on the card that gets under way at 7:00 p.m.


With nine series wins to his credit, Phoenix shoe R.J. Johnson leads the USAC Southwest forces into the event with a 79-point advantage over Charles Davis, Jr., with Mike Martin, Shon Deskins and Ronnie Clark filling out the top five for those set to defend their “home” turf on Saturday.


Fresh off his third USAC West Coast win on Friday, Danny Faria, Jr., leads the invading Cali contingent ahead of Saturday night winner Richard Vander Weerd, Bud Kaeding, Ryan Bernal and Rusty Carlile.


Along with each of the series top non-wingers, several other top contenders are expected to drop in for the night including five-time CRA champion Mike Spencer, New Mexico’s Rick Ziehl and California’s Colby Copeland among others.


While R.J. Johnson has racked up five USAC Southwest wins atop CSP clay this year, Charles Davis, Jr., has topped the most recent pair of events on June 29 and July 27.  The Chargin’ One also enters Saturday’s card as the defending “Brawl for It All” winner.


Saturday’s card is the second of three scheduled “Grudge” matches between Southwest and West Coast.  Bryan Clauson topped the initial round at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in March, with the final leg set for the opening night of Perris Auto Speedway’s Oval Nationals on October 31 in Perris, CA.


While the best of the wingless Sprint Car ranks mix it up in the “Brawl for It All”, Johnny Shelton, Jr., will try to defend his two-point advantage over Josh Shipley in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action.  Shelton, Jr., picked off his lone win of the year on July 13 while Shipley has parked it in victory lane on five different occasions.  Larry Gibson topped the most recent event on July 27.


Dustin Cormany has topped the win charts in Micro Sprints with five triumphs, including the most recent one in July while John Priest and Chaz Baca, Jr., combined to win the initial five AMA Mod Lite main events before Nick Gann took the most recent win.


Tickets for Saturday’s “Brawl for It All” are just $15, with a $2 discount for Military, Seniors and Students.  Children ages 7-12 are $6, with children 6 and under admitted free.  VIP passes are available for $20.


Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Holiday Inn Express at 623-853-1313.


To keep up on all the latest news and happenings, sign up for Canyon Speedway E-News.  The track update registration can be found at the top of the home page.


The entire 2013 Canyon Schedule can be previewed online at


Discounted CSP season passes are also available by calling the track office at 602-258-7223.  Season ticket packages can be viewed at


Canyon Speedway Park is located in north Peoria, AZ, off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles west on Carefree Highway.  For more information, contact the track at 602-258-RACE(7223) or check online at