Hanover, PA (05/09/14) – York’s Chase Dietz hasn’t forgotten how to win at Trail-Way Speedway.

Making his first-ever “358” sprint car start at Trail-Way and first run the Michael Markey #31, the 2012 Trail-Way 600cc micro-sprint champ started on the front row and led every lap of the 25-lap feature Friday night.

“This is a heck-of-a way to get back to victory lane,” said the sprint car sophomore, “This is the first time I’ve raced at Trail-Way since 2012.”

“I thought Chase was the best driver to put in the car,” said car owner Markey, “Looks like I was right.”

“We weren’t very good in the heat race,” said Dietz, “but we pulled the wing back and it ran great in the feature.”

Touche.Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Tease trail-way

Dietz grabbed the lead from polesitter Cody Fletcher at the outset, and despite mid-race pressure from third-starting Isaac Sneeringer, he was never headed.

Sneeringer held off a late charge from Robbie Kendall to finish second, with Brad McCelland and Seth Kearchner completing the top five.

Heats for the 11 “358” sprint cars were won by Jeff Halligan (who flipped and brought out the only red or yellow flag of the feature) and Dwight Leppo.

Next Friday (5/16), Trail-Way will host the Insinger Fuels Spring Championship for the 358 Sprint Cars.  Also on the schedule are the 358 Late Models, Limited Stocks, and ACMS 600cc Stock Sprints.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.


For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 31 Chase Dietz; 2. 19Z Isaac Sneeringer; 3. 55 Michael Paris; 4. 6R Brad McClelland; 5. 30 Seth Kearchner; 6. 66A Cody Fletcher; 7. 4 Dwight Leppo; 8. 64 Randy Whisler; 9. 19D Wyatt Hinkle; 10. 59T Tim Stallings; 11. 45H Jeffrey Halligan. No Time.

Lap Leaders-Dietz (1-25)


Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1.45H Jeffrey Halligan; 2. 6R Brad McClelland; 3. 55 Robert Kendall; 4. 30 Seth Kearchner; 5. 59T Tim Stallings; 6. 19D Wyatt Hinkle. Time – 2:24.44


Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 4 Dwight Leppo; 2. 66A Cody Fletcher; 3. 19Z Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 31 Chase Dietz; 5. 64 Randy Whisler. Time – 2:23.22