JoJo Helberg in victory lane Friday at Dixie Motor Speedway. - AVSS Photo
JoJo Helberg in victory lane Friday at Dixie Motor Speedway. - AVSS Photo
JoJo Helberg in victory lane Friday at Dixie Motor Speedway. – AVSS Photo


Birch Run, MI — (August 1, 2014) — Scoring his fourth Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints victory of the season and third consecutive at Dixie (MI) Motor Speedway, Jo Jo Helberg earned the victory at the .400-mile oval on Friday, August 1.

Helberg powered around the outside of Davey Hamilton to take the race lead on the fifth circuit and then dominated the final 25 circuits. He was chased across the finish line by Canadian Ryan Litt with Florida’s Troy DeCaire making a last lap pass on Hamilton for third position. Davey Hamilton Jr. filled out the top-five finishers.

“The car wasn’t that good on the bottom in the early stages, but it was working really good on the top. I re-grouped after the yellow and gave it everything I had on the outside. You can go all out on these Hoosier Tires in 30 lap races,” said race winner Jo Jo Helberg.

The 16-car starting field charged to the green flag with Hamilton getting the jump and pacing the opening laps as DeCaire settled into second spot and Helberg drove into the third position. The lone caution waved on lap 4 when Jerry Caryer came to a stop in turn 3.

On the restart, Helberg made quick work on DeCaire using the outside lane to advance to second position and stayed up high to bypass Hamilton for the top spot. Once out front, Helberg began to construct a sizeable margin.

At the 10-lap mark, Litt drove into third around DeCaire and three laps later passed Hamilton for the second spot. Litt was able to close on Helberg in lapped traffic, but once Helberg got passed John Turnbull Jr., he was able to distance himself from Litt.

At the checkered flag, Helberg pulled away to earn his seventh Winged Sprint Car feature of the season while Litt posted his second top-two AVBBSS finish of 2014. DeCaire earned his second straight series podium with Hamilton and Hamilton Jr. filling out the top five.

Kyle Edwards collected the Hamilton Trucking Fast Qualifier Award with an official lap of 12.713 seconds at 113.270 mph. Heat race wins went to Helberg and Hamilton.

The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints return to action on Saturday, August 2 at Illiana (IN) Motor Speedway.

For more series information on the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints, visit www.SuperSprints.com.
– www.SuperSprints.com –