VanDam Wins Grays Harbor

From Grays Harbor Raceway

Elma, WA — (August 2, 2014) — In the 360 Sprint Car division Enumclaw’s Henry Van Dam and Mike Romig of Vancouver would start on the front row of the 25 lap feature. The field would take the green, with Van Dam getting the early lead. Shelton’s Jay Cole would move into the second position, but the red flag would fly for a double flip in turn four. Elma’s Jason Reed, and Evan Margeson of Tacoma would both go for a wild ride. Everett driver Tyler Anderson would also spin to avoid the incident. Both drivers did walk away. On the restart Van Dam would get the lead again, with Cole, and Marysville driver Colton Heath moving around Cole for second. Heath would look to chase down Van Dam. Heath would look to the inside of Van Dam going into turn two a lap later, with Van Dam on the high side, and Heath on the bottom. Van Dam would get the advantage down the back stretch. Heath would look to try and take the lead out of turn four, but Van Dam had the momentum on the top side of the 3/8’s banked clay oval.

Van Dam would continue to lead, with Heath, Cole, Romig, and Anderson running the top five. Anderson would battle with Romig for the fourth position for a few laps, eventually getting by Romig and setting his sights on Cole. Van Dam would continue to lead as he would hit lap traffic, with Heath right behind him, looking for an advantage through the lap traffic. The only caution of the feature would come out on lap 8 for Romig who would spin in the middle of turn three and four. On the restart, Heath would look to the inside of Van Dam for the lead going into turn one, but Van Dam once again had the momentum on the high side. Meanwhile, Anderson would get by Cole for third on that restart, Cole and Anderson would race side by side for about a lap, but Anderson would pull away.

Van Dam would start to pull away from Heath once again, and go on to win the 25 lap feature. Colton Heath, Tyler Anderson, Jay Cole, and Poulsbo driver Garrett Johnson would round out the top five. Van Dam and Romig would both pick up the heat races, with Evan Margeson setting quick time.

360 Sprint Cars:

Fast Time:
50 Evan Margeson

Heat 1:
1. 33V Henry Van Dam, 2. 0J Jay Cole, 3. 50 Evan Margeson, 4. 15 Dan Dunlap, 5. Michael Hodel

Heat 2:
1. 22 Mike Romig, 2. 33 Colton Heath, 3. 97R Jason Reed, 4. 24 Tyler Anderson, 5. 3G Garrett Johnson

1. Van Dam, 2. Heath, 3. Anderson, 4. Cole, 5. Johnson, 6. Hodel, 7. Romig, 8. Dunlap, 9. Margeson, 10. Reed