POWRi to Visit Belle-Clair Speedway for the Final Time in 2014

POWRi logo 2011

From Powri

MILLSTADT, IL – POWRi is scheduled to visit Belle-Clair Speedway on Sunday, September 7th for the 10th Annual Charlene POWRi logo 2011Meents Memorial. This will be POWRi’s last visit to the Belleville, IL track this year. Since its inception in 2005, the Charlene Meents Memorial is an event that both fans and drivers look forward to all season. Recent past winners of the Charlene Meents Memorial include Zach Daum in 2013, Austin Brown in 2012, and Brett Anderson in 2011.

The event is held in honor of former Midwest Auto Racing Association President, Charlene Meents. During her years with MARA, Meents was instrumental in keeping midget racing alive in the Midwest, especially the St. Louis area. She also played an important role in maintaining MARA’s presence in some of the country’s largest and most notable races, including the Belleville Nationals and the Chili Bowl Nationals. Though she passed away in August 2003, Meents is remembered by many as the friendly face who welcomed them to each MARA event. Along with her friends and family, the Charlene Meents Memorial keeps her racing legacy alive.

Just as Meents contributed much to midget racing, several additional sponsors have contributed to the Charlene Meents Memorial. A big thank you to all of the following people and businesses:

T-Shirt Sponsors – Hoosier Tire Midwest, In Memory of Howard Lehmann, Grosvenor Trucking, Siner Transport Co., Billings Bodywork Medical Massage, Spike Chassis, Lakeland Square Maytag Laundry, 4 Left Turns, and Horsepower Inc – Indy.

Heat Race Winner Sponsors – Shannon McQueen Racing, Harlan & Ty Hulsey Racing, and the French Family

Heat Race Second Place Finisher Sponsors – Product certificates, Rod End Supply and Hinchman Indy

B-Main Non-Transfer Sponsor – Horsepower Inc – Indy

Heat Race High Passing Points Sponsor – Daum Crop Insurance

A-main Hard Charger Sponsor – Anonymous donor of $200

All Race Winners Sponsor – 4 Left Turns

A-Main Lap Sponsors – In Memory of Chad McDaniel, Spike Chassis, Quick Racing, 4 Left Turns, Daum Motorsports, B&J Windshield Repair, Grosvenor Trucking, Bill Willis, Roof Bolt Express, Harlan & Ty Hulsey Racing, In Memory of Howard Lehmann, Canham Graphics, Siner Transport, The Dean Billings Family, Hoosier Tire Midwest, Randy Meyers Racing, Lakeland Square Maytag Laundry, In Memory of Michael Temares, Horsepower Inc – Indy, Kevin Crowder, Julie Novosel, and In Memory of Morty

Prior winners:

2005 -Matt Sandy

2006 – Mike Hess

2007 – Brad Loyet

2008 – Brett Anderson

2009 – Brad Loyet

2010 – Brad Loyet

2011 – Brett Anderson

2012 – Austin Brown

2013 – Zach Daum

Current 2014 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Point Standings (Top 10): 1. Zach Daum (3370) 2. Christopher Bell (2930) 3. Darren Hagen (2905) 4. Tyler Thomas (2610) 5. Andrew Felker (2565) 6. Tanner Thorson (2470) 7. Parker Price-Miller (2300) 8. Jake Blackhust (2300) 9. Austin Brown (2075) 10. Daniel Robinson (1970)

Current 2014 POWRi Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Point Standings (Top 10): 1. Jeremy Camp (1900) 2. Aaron Andruskevitch (1895) 3. Nathan Benson (1820) 4. Joe B. Miller (1610) 5. Joey Wirth (1490) 6. Jason Harms (1265) 7. Jake Neuman (1220) 8. Matt Ponder (1030) 9. Frank Flud (1020) 10. Kyle Schuett (925)

For further information, go to www.POWRi.com.