Copper on Dirt next up for CRA

USAC United States Auto Club Top Story Logo

USAC United States Auto Club Top StoryFrom Dick Jordan

The eighth “Copper on Dirt” at USA Raceway in Tucson, Ariz. is next up for the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Cars on March 20-21. Visalia, Calif.’s Richard Vander Weerd takes a six-point lead over five-time series champion Mike Spencer into the two-night event after winning Saturday night’s 30-lapper at Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway.

Vander Weerd wheeled his Vander Weerd Construction/Battery Worx Maxim/Shark past 2014 USAC West Coast Sprint champ Matt Mitchell on lap eight and led the final 23 laps to capture the “Sokola Shootout” 2015 USAC/CRA opener. Austin Williams was second ahead of Woodland Auto Display fast qualifier Spencer, defending USAC/CRA champ Damion Gardner and Mitchell.

It’s been five years since Levi Jones won the last USAC Sprint race contested at the 3/8-mile dirt oval. Other past USAC Sprint winners at USA Raceway include Josh Pelkey, Cory Kruseman, Damion Gardner, Jesse Hockett, Scotty Weir and Charles Davis Jr.

Defending USAC Southwest Sprint Car champion R.J. Johnson leads all USAC drivers with 18 career wins in the Grand Canyon State. Davis ranks second at 15.

2015 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Standings: 1-Richard Vander Weerd-73, 2-Mike Spencer-67, 3-Austin Williams-66, 4-Damion Gardner-59, 5-Matt Mitchell-55, 6-Jake Swanson-51, 7-Hunter Schuerenberg-50, 8-Ronnie Gardner-48, 9-Cody Williams-42, 10-Brody Roa-38.