Mark Smith wins at Selinsgrove

2013 Tease Selinsgrove Speedway Logo

From Selinsgrove Speedway

Selinsgrove, PA — (April 25, 2015) — Mark Smith of Sunbury started Saturday night’s 25-lap 360 sprint car feature at Selinsgrove Speedway in the 10th position and made a late-race pass by Jason Shultz of Carlisle for his second win of the season at the Snyder County oval.

The $2,000 victory at the wheel of the Mach 1 Chassis house car was Smith’s 13th career at the track in 358-360 sprint car competition.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the 35th annual Jack Gunn Memorial for 360 sprint cars sanctioned by the United Racing Club at 7 p.m. Saturday, May 2. The 30-lap tribute race will pay $3,500 to win and will include time trials as part of the qualifying format. The super late models and pro stocks will also be on the racing card. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

At the start of the sprint car feature, third-place starter Michael Walter got turned sideways in turn four and collected 16th-place starter Mallie Shuster. When the race restarted, original fourth-place starter Jason Shultz drove into the lead with seventh-place starter TJ Stutts in pursuit.

With five laps completed, Shultz and Stutts led second-place starter Derek Locke, polesitter Ryan Kissinger, and sixth-place starter Larry Kelleher in the top five spots. At the lap eight marker, 10th-place starter Mark Smith dueled with Stutts for the runner-up position. Smith eventually secured second on the 12th lap.

In the final laps of the race, Smith caught Shultz in traffic and made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn one on the 20th circuit. Smith stretched his lead as Stutts began to pressure Shultz for the runner-up position. At the checkered flag, Smith was victorious by a mere second over Stutts, Shultz, 15th-place starter Chuck Hebing, and 12th-place starter Davie Franek.


360 Sprint Cars – 20 Entries

25-Lap A-Main: 1) 1 Mark Smith 2) 23 TJ Stutts 3) 29 Jason Shultz 4) 45 Chuck Hebing 5) 28F Davie Franek 6) 89 Robbie Stillwaggon 7) 5G Curt Michael 8) 19 Colby Womer 9) 76 Larry Kelleher 10) 77 Derek Locke 11) 22 Troy Betts 12) 98 Joe Trenca 13) 39 Eric Parker 14) 3A Kevin Albert 15) 66 Ryan Kissinger 16) 29S Derek Steward 17) 33W Michael Walter II 18) 1W Eric Tomecek 19) 49S Mallie Shuster 20) 99K Cody Keller

Heat Winners: Derek Locke, Cody Keller, Jason Shultz