Ackerland wins at Meridian

Meridian, ID — (August 29, 2015) — The Pepsi Sprtincars rumbled onto the quarter-mile for a 25 lap main event. When the green flag waved Nampa, Idaho’s Drew Crenshaw and Tyler Barrow battled wheel-to-wheel for top spot. Crenshaw claimed the lead in his Bender Electric, Discount Tire sprinter on lap two, but was quickly overcome by Mike Anderson, Justin Segura and Tony Ackerland. While Anderson and his Bender Electric, Idaho Plumbing Company car pulled away from the field Segura worked to hold off Ackerland for the runner up spot. On lap ten Ackerland piloted his Banner Promotions machine into the runner up spot. Ackerland used an early restart to power around Anderson and take the lead on lap eleven.

Further back in the pack fast heat winner Riley Rogers fought to race his way out of seventh place. Rogers maneuvered his Extreme Towing and Recovery sprinter into the passing lane and fired around the outside of the speedway to fifth with ten laps remaining. Rogers’ run was spoiled by the third place battle between Segura and Jasen Skyberg. With nowhere to go Rogers settled for fifth behind Skyberg, Segura, Anderson, and A-1 Chem Dry main event trophy winner Ackerland.

“It’s a good group of guys we run with,” Ackerland said of his competition in Arctic Circle of Meridian Victory Lane.