Selinsgrove Speedway top Story

By Steve InchSelinsgrove Speedway top Story

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will honor the memory of sprint car driver Joe Whitcomb with the 13th annual running of the Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 360 sprint cars sanctioned by the Patriot Sprint Tour at 7:30 p.m. this Saturday, June 18.  Track gates will open at 5 p.m.

The 30-lap sprint car feature, a tribute to honor the late open wheel racer from Millersburg who succumbed to injuries sustained in a sprint car racing accident at the track on June 21, 2003, will pay $2,571 to win and $271 to start.  Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format.

The speedway’s and Patriot Sprint Tour’s rules will be both be in effect/interchangeable for the 360 sprint car division for the Whitcomb Memorial. Saturday’s race will be the first and only event sanctioned by the Patriot Sprint Tour this season at the track.

Advanced Concrete Systems of Middleburg will be the title sponsor of the four division show, which will also feature the super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners.

Previous winners of the Whitcomb Memorial include Nate Snyder of Halifax (2004); Kevin Nagy of East Brunswick, N.J. (2005); Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2006, 2007, 2008); Pat Cannon of Etters (2009, 2010, 2013); and the only four-time winner TJ Stutts of Liverpool (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015).

Whitcomb, a dedicated racer most of his life, began his career in go-karts at the age of seven.  He won hundreds of races in karting and was a three-time national karting champion.  A highlight during his karting career was an appearance on ESPN.

In 2001, Whitcomb became a regular competitor at Selinsgrove in the 358 sprint car, driving his trademark blue and yellow number 71 racer.  That year, Whitcomb became Selinsgrove Speedway’s Sportsman of the Year.

Whitcomb won his first sprint car race at Selinsgrove on June 8, 2002, ending the five-race winning streak of champion Chad Layton.  Whitcomb also won sprint car races at Williams Grove and Bridgeport Speedways during his racing career.

The speedway will round out of the month Saturday, June 25, with the Firecracker 30 for 360 sprints plus the rescheduled Moon Shine Camo Route 35 Late Model Challenge Series race, pro stocks, roadrunners, and fireworks!

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will host the Burris Money Series for go karts at 9 a.m. this Sunday, June 19. There will be no racing at the track Friday, June 17.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.  The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2266.

Purse for 2016 Whitcomb Memorial for 360 Sprint Cars: 1) $2,571 2) $1,200 3) $1,000 4) $800 5) $700 6) $600 7) $550 8) $500 9) $475 10) $450 11) $425 12) $400 13) $375 14) $350 15) $325 16) $300 17-24) $271

Admission Fees for June 18: Adults $15; Students (12-17) $7; Kids 11 & Under Free; Pit Passes: $30