Wilson Wire-to-Wire for Sprint Series of Oklahoma Ardmore Victory!

Sprint Series of Oklahoma Top Story Logo SSO

By David Smith Jr.
Ardmore, Oklahoma – August 18, 2017 – Sprint Series of Oklahoma

Tucker Doughty and defending tour champion Andy Shouse started on the front row for the twenty-lap feature with Wilson the one taking the lead as the green flag fell.

Several cautions dotted the night’s feature finale yet Wilson would hold on to become the seventh different feature winner of the 2017 race season and second-career at Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

Tenth starting Michael Day, who won earlier here at SOS, came home second while Doughty held on for third. Gary Owens, who had to run and won the twelve- lap “B” feature, started seventeenth and come home fourth while Blake Dacus, who finished second in the “B” feature, to Owens, rounded out the top five.

The four heat races for the thirty-three-car field were won by Wilson, Steven Shebester, Marcus Thomas and Doughty.

The tour will now load up, make all the proper maintenance and head on over to the series inaugural visit to the famed Lawton Speedway for a Saturday night to round out the double-header weekend for the series.

Sprint Series of Oklahoma

Southern Oklahoma Speedway/Ardmore, Oklahoma

August 18, 2017

33 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Chad Wilson, 2) Andy Shouse, 3) Justin Mowry, 4) Steve McMackin, 5) Loyd Clevenger, 6) John Ricketts, 7) Joshua Hanna, 8) Blake Scott

2nd Heat: 1) Steven Shebester, 2) Jake Martens, 3) Tanner Conn, 4) Tristan Oakes, 5) Chris Kelly, 6) Travis Shots, 7) Robert Byrom, 8) Sterling Hoff

3rd Heat: 1) Marcus Thomas, 2) Jeff Day, 3) Justin Filfield, 4) Brandon Anderson, 5) Gary Owens, 6) Joey Starnes, 7) Micha Baccus, 8) Warren Fields, 9) Martin Edwards

4th Heat; 1) Tucker Doughty, 2) Michael Day, 3) Monte Ferrieva, 4) Cody Whitworth, 5) Blake Dacus, 6) Robert Vetter, 7) Jerry Jumper, DNS) Blake Baccus

B Feature: 1) Gary Owens, 2) Blake Dacus, 3) Brandon Anderson, 4) Travis Shots, 5) John Ricketts, 6) Martin Edwards, 7) Robert Vetter, 8) Sterling Hoff, 9) Steve McMackin, 10) Micha Baccus, 11) Blake Scott, 12) Jerry Jumper, 13) Robert Byrom, 14) Joshua Hanna, DNS) Joey Starnes, Warren Fields, Blake Baccus

A Feature: 1) Chad Wilson, 2) Michael Day, 3) Tucker Doughty, 4) Gary Owens, 5) Blake Dacus, 6) Brandon Anderson, 7) Chris Kelly, 8) Jeff Day, 9) Loyd Clevenger, 10) Cody Whitworth, 11) Jake Martens, 12) Travis Shots, 13) Tristan Oakes, 14) Andy Shouse, 15) Justin Mowry, 16) Steven Shebester, 17) Tanner Conn, 18) Justin Filfield, 19) Marcus Thomas, 20) Monte Ferrieva

Lap Leaders: Wilson 1-20