Lines Makes It Three In A Row at Murray Bridge

From Murray Bridge Speedway

Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines captured his third successive South Australian Sprintcar Championship after starting from the fourth row in the R & B Excavations supported event. Having rolled over in his second heat race he was forced to start from position eight in the 18 car field. After working the top of the race track to perfection he drove past World of Outlaws star Craig Dollansky with two laps to go and was never headed from that point. “I can’t thank my guys enough. After rolling over early they worked hard to get the car back into shape. I feel a bit for Craig as his front wing fell over but this is a great way to bounce back from a tough Speedweek� commented an elated race winner shortly after the event.

After taking the lead Lines survived a scary moment in turn two after the cars of Daniel Pestka and Matt Egel made contact right in front of the leader and as a result Pestka rolled just metres in front of the #45 J&J of Lines.

Dollansky managed to hold off a determined Ryan Jones for second after fighting back right on the line after Jones put a slide job on the USA#7 in the final turn. �It was great to be here tonight. It was a good race, both these guys alongside me are great competitors. We had only been to Parramatta before this tour started so all of these track are new to me so it was good to get another strong result� added Dollansky who after the presentation lived up to his �Crowd Pleaser� tag when he presented a young fan with his runner-up trophy.

In what was a similar finish to the battle for second Luke Dillon just got the better of Terry Pitt by taking fourth in a pass on the final turn. Sixth place went the way of former Champion David Murcott, with Alan Barlee, Dylan Jenkin, Mark Reuter, Steven Caruso, Nick Lacey and Ron Dalton rounding out the finishers.

Earlier the heat races went the way of Victorian Nick Lacey, Lines, Jones and Jamie Cobby while Cobby was victorious in the top six dash.

The AMCA Nationals were also on the program with a field of over 25 drivers in attendance who were all using the event as a final hit out before the Australian Championship at Murray Bridge in three weeks time. The field contained several Victorian competitors but it was one of our locals who walked away with the feature event as Brian Chadwick led the entire distance to defeat David Hartman and Daniel Scott, who was the best of the visitors.

In addition to the Speedway action a ramp jump race was also held with regular Street Stock competitor Nigel Reichstein taking the event out in fine style.

The next event at the Moore Engineering Murray Bridge Speedway will be next Saturday January 9 with the Gilbert Racing Stadium Motorcross.

R&B Excavations 2010 South Australian Sprintcar Championship

Murray Bridge Glass Heat 1: 1st V26 Nick Lacey 2nd S44 Matt Egel 3rd USA7 Craig Dollansky

Murray Machining & Sheds Heat 2: 1st S45 Steven Lines 2nd S95 Mark Reuter 3rd S8 Terry Pitt

Murray Bridge Hire Heat 3: 1st S63 Ryan Jones 2nd USA7 Craig Dollansky 3rd S81 Luke Dillon

Spry Earthmovers Heat 4: 1st S12 Jamie Cobby 2nd S97 David Murcott 3rd S51 Dylan Jenkin

Murdoch Insure Invest Dash: 1st S12 Jamie Cobby 2nd USA7 Craig Dollansky 3rd S44 Matt Egel 4th S8 Terry Pitt 5th S63 Ryan Jones 6th S95 Mark Reuter

R&B Excavations 2010 South Australian Sprintcar Championship A-Main 30 Laps: 1st S45 Steven Lines 2nd USA 7 Craig Dollansky 3rd S63 Ryan Jones 4th S81 Luke Dillon 5th S8 Terry Pitt

AMCA Nationals:

Blair Athol Auto Parts Heat 1: 1st 41 Brian Chadwick 2nd 46 Wayne Vickers 3rd 24 Mick Ffrench

Ultra Clean Cars Heat 2: 1st 99 Stephen Schwartz 2nd 45 Stuart Pope 3rd 23 Jason Robinson

Auto Pro Murray Bridge Heat 3: 1st 15 David Hartman 2nd 19 Steve Letts 3rd 27 Tyson Chambers

Hall Mechanical Heat 4: 1st 41 Brian Chadwick 2nd 99 Stephen Schwartz 3rd 4 Cory Fox

Leith Kahl Cabinet Makers Heat 5: 1st V1 Adam King 2nd 19 Steve Letts 3rd 46 Wayne Vickers

Rowe Aluminium & Security Heat 6: 1st 23 Jason Robinson 2nd 11 John Stumann 3rd 8 Keith Ebbs

MTA B-Main: 1st V97 Stewart-Grant Campbell 2nd V28 Paul Sullivan 3rd 63 Luke Dodding

LMC Products A-Main 20 Laps: 1st 41 Brian Chadwick 2nd 15 David Hartman 3rd V91 Daniel Scott 4th V1 Adam King 5th V7 Frank Theirry