by Tommy Goudge

(May 26, 2010) – Ohsweken Speedway’s fifteenth anniversary season kicked off in style last Friday with great weather and great racing. This week Engine Pro Racing presents the second round of Friday Night Thunder 2010, and it’s “Bring Your Neighbour” Two for One Admission Night at the Speedway! A full card is on tap, including the Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Cars, ESSO Thunder Stocks, ESSO Mini Stocks, and Bombers, plus a “Gauntlet Run”.

The third season for the Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Car division began with a large field of thirty-one cars signed in to the pit area. At the end of the night it was third year Sprint Car driver Dave Dykstra standing in victory lane. Kevin Job contended for the feature win as well but settled for second, while Jared Zimbardi, Dain Naida, and Jim Huppunen also got their seasons started on the right foot with top five finishes. Defending track champion Tom Huppunen will look to get back up front after a spin last week resulted in the #12c finishing eleventh.

The Rookie of the Year battle is already taking shape as well: Six first year Sprint Car drivers were in action last week, and three qualified for the feature. Chris Steele was the highest finishing rookie last week, with an impressive tenth place run.

The ESSO Thunder Stocks division featured another exciting night of racing last week, with Billy Bleich holding off Ryan Dinning, Jamie Cox, and Lee Winger for the win. Dave Bailey rounded out the top five, while defending champ Shayne Pierce recovered from a flat tire to salvage a sixth place finish. Meanwhile, Wyatt Van Wart and Phil Nyssen were two of the rookies who got their first tastes of Thunder Stock action last week.

The 2010 ESSO Mini Stock season kicked off with Trevor Goulding getting the feature win when Abel Castelein couldn’t make it through post-race inspection. Kevin Hilborn, Craig Erskine, Steve Hess, and Paul Goodale also started their seasons on good notes with top five finishes. Jake Brown got the early jump on the Rookie of the Year title, as he was the only first year driver able to start the feature.

A large field of twenty Bombers signed in last Friday, and when the dust settled Karl Sault was in victory lane starting his title defense off well. Newcomer Trevor Roszell placed second, while Kacey Huffman, Derek Chechalk, and Mike Kirk rounded out the top five. Sault and other bomber drivers will also be part of the special “Gauntlet Run” scheduled for this Friday, a race that is sure to become a fan favourite.

Advanced reserved seat tickets for the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars July 30 and 31, and Canadian Sprint Car Nationals September 16, 17, and 18 are on sale now! Please visit www.OhswekenSpeedway and call 1-888-720-RACE to order yours today!

Ohsweken Speedway’s Friday Night Thunder returns this Friday, May 28 when Engine Pro Racing presents “Bring Your Neighbour” Two for One Admission Night featuring the Corr/Pak Merchandising Sprint Cars, ESSO Thunder Stocks, ESSO Mini-Stocks, and Bombers.

Friday Night Thunder at Ohsweken offers affordable exciting family entertainment just a short drive away from most Mid-Western Ontario locations. Friday Night Thunder Adult General Admission is $10, while Seniors and Students are $8, and Kids age 12 and under are FREE! Please visit for more information.

Spectator gates open @ 6:00p.m., with the first race taking the green flag at 7:45p.m. this Friday, May 28!