NCRA Sprints Set to Roll into Thunder Hill This Saturday Night

National Championship Racing Association


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Midwest City, Oklahoma – June 2, 2010 – This coming Saturday night be prepared to hear the thunder roll as the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series will make their first ever appearance at Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayetta, Kansas. While it may be the first ever visit to the track by these winged warriors, it won’t be the first appearance for a sprint car series sanctioned by NCRA.

The last sprint car appearance at the track sanctioned by the National Championship Racing Association was back in July of 2002 in the now defunct outlaw sprint division. On that night it was Broken Arrow, Oklahoma driver Aaron Berryhill who picked up the victory. Ironically Aaron is running full time with the series for the first time in 360 sprint car competition this season and is currently fifth in the point standings. This will be the final year for Berryhill as he is retiring as a driver at the end of the season.

Current series rookie of the year leading contender Trevor Grossenbacher of Lincoln, Nebraska is the current points leader after two races have been completed on the 2010 race schedule. He comes in with a slim ten point advantage over Goddard, Kansas driver J.D. Johnson. Jason Martin (Liberal, Kansas) and Jeremy Campbell (Minnesota) currently sit tied for third in the point standings, just 25 points out of the points lead. Four time and defending series champion Garry Lee Maier of Cimmaron, Kansas sits sixth in the point standings just 45 points out of the lead.

Tanner Mullins (Wichita), Gavin Punch (Collinsville, Oklahoma), Jordan Whitehead (Wichita) and Sherman Davis (Sand Springs, Oklahoma) currently round out the top ten in the point standings and have made both events held thus far.

Other series regulars that are expected to compete are Luke Cranston (Plaines, Kansas), Mike Peters (Wichita), A.J. Selenke (Wichita), Jon Freeman (Salina, Kansas), Cody Forshee (Wichita), Steve Richardson (Liberal) and Kirby Robe (Colvich, Kansas).

Thus far two events have been held for the series with Davis taking the season opener back in April and Eunice, Louisiana’s Jason Johnson taking home victory lane honors just this past Memorial Day Monday night, both at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas.

Joining the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series will be the tracks regular weekly divisions of modifieds, northern sport mods, hobby stocks and stock cars, all sanctioned by IMCA.

Pit gates and grandstands will open at 5:00 PM with hot laps scheduled for 6:30 PM and racing at 7:30 PM.

Thunder Hill Speedway is located 14.6 miles north of US 24 on US 75 to 142nd St., then 2.2 miles west. For more race or ticket information, contact the track (785) 966-2844 or send them an email

The 2010 race season is the 40th Anniversary season for the O’Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association and sanctions five divisions, including late models, sprint cars, modified north, modified south and southern modifieds throughout the Great Plains region in the following states: Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. To find out more on the series, check out their website For other inquiries on the series and any one of their five divisions, contact the office (316) 755-1781.

Officials with the O’Reilly/NCRA would like to welcome the following for their partnership with the sprint car division for the 2010 race season:

OFFICIAL SPONSORS: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels.

CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Arizona Race Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Kiezer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra Shield, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Products

Current 2010 O’Reilly/NCRA Sprint Car Point Standings

1 Trevor Grossenbacher 560

2 J.D. Johnson 550

3 Jason Martin 535

4 Jeremy Campbell 535

5 Aaron Berryhill 525

6 Garry Lee Maier 515

7 Tanner Mullens 475

8 Gavin Punch 465

9 Jordan Whitehead 460

10 Sherman Davis 445