Aussie Matt Smith and Netizel Win at Dodge County

By Bryan Gapinski
Beaver Dam, Wis., July 2—Matt Smith captured the 9th annual Mid State Equipment Sue Thiel Memorial Friday Night at Dodge County Fairgrounds. Smith becomes only the third Australian driver to win a Badger Midget Auto Racing Association sanctioned feature in the organizations 74-year history.

Smith made a daring three-wide high side pass for the lead entering Turn 3 on the opening lap. Once in front Smith continued the running the cushion while Series points leader Mike Hess ran the bottom of the track. The pair pulled away from the field, with Smith holding his advantage. Hess moved to cushion, with five laps remaining, and closed to Smith’s rear bumper. One lap later Hess took the lead only to surrender the top position back to Smith on the next lap.

Smith driving the Steve Smith owned Triple X/Hawk Chevrolet No. 1 finished two car lengths ahead of Hess, followed by Davey Ray, Scott Hatton and fast qualifier Travis Berryhill. Brandon Waelti who entered the event second in Series points escaped injury in a spectacular flip, during the second heat race. Waelti’s car nearly cleared the Turn 3 catch fence. Berryhill was involved in a separate flip in the same race.

15-lap Feature: 1. Matt Smith; 2. Mike Hess; 3. Davey Ray; 4. Scott Hatton; 5. Travis Berryhill; 6. Bob Schreffler; 7. Courtney Erfurth.
6-lap Heat Race Winners: Smith, Ray.
Fast Time: Berryhill, 21.244 seconds.
Cars Present: 11 Feature Lap Leaders: Smith 1-11, Hess 12, Smith 13-15.
* Berryhill and Waelti flipped in separate accident in heat race two.

Current Badger Midget Series Points: 1.Mike Hess 603; 2. Davey Ray 542; 3. Scott Hatton 524; 4. Travis Berryhill 490; 5.Brandon Waelti 489; 6. Bob Schreffler 417; 7. Courtney Erfurth 367; 8. Brad Loyet 338; 9. Eric Johnson 255; 10.Daniel Robinson 246.

IRA Sprint Car Feature: Scotty Neitzel won the IRA Sprint Car feature: 1. Scotty Neitzel 2.Terry McCarl 3. Mike Reinke 4. Tommy Sexton JR. 5. Billy Balog ….