July 3rd Ventura Raceway Report

ventura raceway logo

by Cliff Morgan

2010 VRA 360 Sprint Car series point leader Troy Rutherford got back to his winning ways Saturday night taking the 30 lap VRA Sprint Car main event over a stellar field of VRA regulars. Starting fourth in the feature he went to the lead after battling Don Gansen, Steve Conrad, Kevin Kierce and Josh Ford. The race saw 10 of the 20 starters on the lead lap at the checker. The race saw one flip when Steve Conrad tangled with Justin Kierce in turn two. Conrad took a wild ride that put his number 56 out of the night’s event. When the race restarted, Rutherford jumped out front and led the rest of the way to the finish. He had to hold off a furious charge by Greg Taylor who finished second right on Rutherford’s bumper at the line. Following Rutherford and Taylor to the lone were Brian Camarillo, Kevin Kierce and Don Gansen. In the VRA series point race, Troy Rutherford stays out front followed by second place point runner Greg Taylor who finished 295 points behind. Kevin Kierce remains in third place with Josh ford in fourth.

The night saw 26 VRA 360 sprint Cars signed into the pits. The LRB Manufacturing Heat Race #1 went to Kevin Kierce, The Steve Watt Enterprises Heat # 2 went to Troy Rutherford, the Kaeding Performance Heat #3 went to Josh ford, Fast Undercar Heat #4 went to Brian Camarillo. The format also called for one Semi Main with win going to Marcue Niemela n the ITI Performance Semi.

VRA Senior Sprint Cars were back with 21 cars in the pits to compete for the 16 starting spots in the main event. Three heat races were run with wins going to Wiley Miller in the LRB Heat Race One, Russell Deblauw in the Maxwell Industries Heat Two and Jeff Culver in the Fast Undercar Heat 3. The main event started with Bob Alderman and Bruce Douglass on the front row. The race saw great competition between the sixteen starters and at the end it was Gary Howard taking his second feature in a row with Rob Kershaw, Victor Davis, Bob Alderman and Cliff Warren rounding out the top five. Rob Kershaw maintains a 260 point lead over Bruce Douglass in the series point race after seven events in 2010.

Saturday night also saw the VRA Senior Dwarf Cars in attendance. 18 cars took the green for their feature 20 lap race. At the end is was Rob Hansen in the number 15 taking the win followed by George Calvo, Kent Benson, Glen Monk and Bill VanPraag. Three heat races were run with wins going Kevin Alverson, Mark Davis and Keith Koslov. The night ended with George Calvo maintaining his point lead by 85 points over Kent Benson

The fast IMCA Modifieds were also on hand Saturday night with 20 cars entered. There were three heat races with wins going to Josh Voght, John Crow and Aaron Rodarte. The 20 lap feature was a very fast and furious one with the win going to Mike Kirby with the two Rodarte brothers Aaron and Austin in second and third, John Crow in fourth and Robert Clayborn in fifth. Austin Rodarte holds a 15 point lead in the point race over Damon Redman after 11 races in 2010.

The Arizona Mod Lights made a special appearance Saturday night showing the fans at Ventura Raceway what they can expect to see when we run these type cars in a new series next season. Andy Eatwell took the win in their 20 lap main event that saw 18 mod lights take the green flag. Three heats were run with wins going to Bryan Miller, Eatwell and Tony Martin.

The final group racing Saturday night was the VRA Go Karts. Heat race wins went to Richard Renken, Jake Rolls and Ken Ito. The 20 lap feature went to Josh Ford with Robert DelGaudio second. The finish behind the top two remains unofficial due to a possible disqualification pending further technical review.

Ventura Raceway returns to action on Saturday July 17 after a week off next week as the Ventura County Fairgrounds hold a gigantic dog show. Be sure to mark this event on your to do calendar.